Ida Mae Announces New Album ‘Click Click Domino’ & Shares Title Track Featuring Marcus King

By Scott Bernstein Mar 3, 2021 12:42 pm PST

Duo Ida Mae unveiled “Click Click Domino,” a new single featuring guitarist Marcus King. The song is the title track from the pair’s forthcoming studio album, which is set for release via Thirty Tigers on July 16.

Ida Mae consists of Chris Turpin and his wife, Stephanie Jean. Originally hailing from London, the duo moved their homebase to Nashville. Click Click Domino is Ida Mae’s sophomore full-length studio album following Chasing Lights and the EP Raining For You.

Turpin and Jean initially planned to return to England to record their new album with Chasing Lights producer Ethan Johns. The COVID-19 pandemic led the pair to reevaluate the plan and instead produced Click Click Domino themselves at their house in Nashville.

Marcus King appears both on the title track and Click Click Domino track “Deep River.” The album also features Jake Kiszka of Greta Van Fleet on “Long Gone & Heartworn.”

“This was written kind of as a knee jerk song. The unfiltered noise of social media, concerns surrounding social engineering, the lack of emotional connection and physical disconnection gets to all of us,” Ida Mae stated regarding their new single. “We all know how easy it is to falsify an image, be it in fashion / politics / or any aspect of your everyday and in a lot of people’s lives it has become a necessity to play into it. I wanted to write the lyrics to ‘Click Click Domino’ almost as Twitter statements, counting characters, making a short sharp stream of consciousness commentary.”

“The riff was originally inspired by the playing of one of our favourite guitar players Pop Staples and it slowly morphed into something that in my mind almost echoed moments of Peter Green’s Fleetwood Mac,” Ida Mae added. “It kicked up a gear when Marcus King came over and we stood side by side, soloing call and response guitar lines over the outro. The attitude of his playing was perfect.”

“A warm summer Nashville evening, enjoying a whiskey beverage with my lady and two of our best friends in town, Chris & Steph of Ida Mae,” explained Marcus King. “I listened through the track ‘Click Click Domino’ and was immediately floored by the raw nature of the recording, the intensity and the undeniable, delightfully British rock sound I had grown up being captured. I’m honoured to have played on this track. What a powerhouse album and what a powerhouse band.”

Watch Ida Mae’s “Click Click Domino” video below:

Click Click Domino Tracklist

  1. Road to Avalon
  2. Click Click Domino (feat. Marcus King)
  3. Line on the Page
  4. Raining for You
  5. Little Liars
  6. Deep River (feat. Marcus King)
  7. Heartworn Traders
  8. Calico Coming Down
  9. Learn To Love You Better
  10. Long Gone & Heartworn (feat. Jake Kiszka)
  11. Mountain Lion Blues
  12. Sing A Hallelujah
  13. Has My Midnight Begun
JamBase Collections