Gov’t Mule Dusts Off Radiohead ‘Creep’ Cover At Westville Music Bowl


Gov’t Mule continued their three-night run at Westville Music Bowl in New Haven, Connecticut on Saturday after performing their first concert in 15 months on Friday. The Saturday show saw Mule busting out their cover of Radiohead’s “Creep” for the first time in four years and more.

Gov’t Mule — guitarist Warren Haynes, drummer Matt Abts, bassist Jorgen Carlsson and keyboardist Danny Louis — got the first set underway with The Staples Singers “Hammer and Nails” which saw Warren on the slide. Mule tunes “Larger Than Life” and “Temporary Saint” followed before Haynes harkened back to his Allman Brothers days with “Dreams.” “Mule” then fittingly kicked off another run of Gov’t Mule songs including “Beautifully Broken” and “Revolution Come, Revolution Go.” The Beatles Revolver cuts “She Said, She Said” and a jam on the Revolver closer, “Tomorrow Never Knows” came next. The latter featured Warren reeling off some flanged out psychedelic runs on his Les Paul accented by Louis on electric piano. The band revved up the jam to a wild ending of the first frame.

The quartet commenced the second set with the aforementioned “Creep” cover. Mule unshelved the hit off Radiohead’s 1993 album Pablo Honey for the first time since April 28, 2017 in New Orleans, as per SetlistFM. Mule spaced their way into the slow burner with Haynes delivering great vocal performances on the song’s iconic chorus and matching the rollercoaster dynamics. Haynes sang the final “I don’t belong here” before Abts dropped the band into the riffy rocker “Mr. High & Mighty.” The Bill Withers classic “Ain’t No Sunshine” then led into “Blind Man In The Dark” ahead of “Mr. Man.” Haynes then delivered an impassioned solo on “About To Rage,” which also saw the guitarist and Louis trading licks. “Brand New Angel” then came ahead of second set closer “Broke Down On The Brazos.”

Gov’t Mule then offered up an encore of “Fallen Down” which led into a jam on the Grateful Dead’s “The Other One.” The excursion saw Warren working the toggle switch on some nifty soloing. Warren then rocked out with his fellow Mule founder Abts who added some booming drum fills to bring the song and evening to a close.

Watch pro-shot video of the first and second set opening songs as well as audience shot clips of “Tomorrow Never Knows,” “About To Rage” and “The Other One” below via the JamBase Live Video Archive:

Relix (See 1,579 videos)
Gov’t Mule (See 106 videos)

Matt Frazier (See 14 videos)
Gov’t Mule (See 106 videos)

Relix (See 1,579 videos)
Gov’t Mule (See 106 videos)

Matt Frazier (See 14 videos)
Gov’t Mule (See 106 videos)

Matt Frazier (See 14 videos)
Gov’t Mule (See 106 videos)


Gov’t Mule at Westville Music Bowl

Set 1
  • Hammer and Nails  
  • Larger Than Life
  • Temporary Saint
  • Dreams  
  • Mule
  • Beautifully Broken
  • Revolution Come, Revolution Go
  • She Said She Said  
  • Tomorrow Never Knows  
Set 2
  • Creep  
  • Mr. High & Mighty
  • Ain't No Sunshine  
  • Blind Man in the Dark
  • Mr. Man
  • About to Rage
  • Brand New Angel
  • Broke Down on the Brazos
  • Fallen Down  
  • The Other One  

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook