Full Show Pro-Shot Video: Punch Brothers Bring The Big Time Summer Tour To Boston


Last month, Americana act Punch Brothers brought The Big Time Tour in support of the recently released All Ashore to the House Of Blues in Boston. PBS station WGBH filmed the July 25th concert for the Front Row Boston program. WGBH shared video of the entire show just in time for this week’s Full Show Friday column.

Mandolinist Chris Thile, fiddler Gabe Witcher, banjo player Noam Pikelny, bassist Paul Kowert and guitarist Chris Eldridge played eight of the nine tracks from All Ashore as part of their 20-song performance in Boston. The quintet also worked in a diverse series of three covers: “Another New World” by Josh Ritter, Norman Blake’s “New Chance Blues” and Claude Debussy’s “Passepied.”

Punch Brothers opened with “Movement & Location” from 2012’s Who’s Feel Young Now? and later in the night would perform “New York City” and “This Girl” off the LP. Other older material played in Boston included “Familiarity,” “Julep” and “My Oh My” from 2015’s The Phosphorescent Blues and Antifogmatic classic “Rye Whiskey.” Watch the complete concert:


Punch Brothers at House of Blues

  • Movement and Location
  • Three Dots and a Dash
  • My Oh My
  • Another New World  
  • New Chance Blues  
  • The Angel of Doubt
  • This Girl
  • All Ashore
  • Watch 'at Breakdown
  • Just Look at This Mess
  • Jumbo
  • Passepied  
  • New York City
  • Julep
  • Jungle Bird
  • It's All Part of the Plan
  • Like It's Going Out of Style
  • The Hops of Guldenberg
  • Rye Whiskey
  • Familiarity