Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention LP ‘Absolutely Free’ Set For 50th Anniversary Reissue

A 50th anniversary reissue of the landmark 1967 Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention album Absolutely Free is coming later this year. The expanded double LP edition features rare and previously unreleased recordings and will be released by Zappa Records/UMe on September 29.

Originally issued by Verve Records on May 26, 1967, Absolutely Free was the follow-up to Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention’s debut LP Freak Out! which came out the year prior. A series of four sessions with producer Tom Wilson featuring Frank Zappa, vocalist Ray Collins, guitarist Jim Fielder, bassist Roy Estradar, keyboardist Don Preston, drummers Jim Black and Billy Mundi and Bunk Gardner on woodwinds, were held in November 1966 in Los Angeles at the Sunset-Highland Studios of T.T.G. Inc. The resulting 13-track LP included such Zappa classics as “Brown Shoes Don’t Make It,” “Plastic People” and “America Drinks & Goes Home.”

Here are the details of the Absolutely Free 50th anniversary edition:

This double 180-gram LP version will include the original record mastered by Bernie Grundman cut directly from the original analog master tapes and a second disc with 20 minutes of rare and unreleased bonus material, including the “Why Don’tcha Do Me Right?”/“Big Leg Emma” single as well as vintage remixes and radio ads from The Vault on side one and a laser etching of Zappa’s visage from the album cover on side two. The package features Zappa’s original layout and a reproduction of the rare, highly sought-after “libretto,” an 18-page booklet with a foreword by FZ and lyrics to all the compositions, that was offered only by mail order when originally released.

Head here to pre-order and view the tracklist below.

Absolutely Free 50th Anniversary Edition Tracklist

LP1 – Side 1

  1. Plastic People
  2. The Duke Of Prunes
  3. Amnesia Vivace
  4. The Duke Regains His Chops
  5. Call Any Vegetable
  6. Invocation And Ritual Dance Of The Young Pumpkin
  7. Soft-Sell Conclusion

LP1 – Side 2

  1. America Drinks
  2. Status Back Baby
  3. Uncle Bernie’s Farm
  4. Son Of Suzy Creamcheese
  5. Brown Shoes Don’t Make It
  6. America Drinks & Goes Home

LP2 – Side 1

  1. Absolutely Free Radio Ad #1
  2. Why Don’tcha Do Me Right
  3. Big Leg Emma
  4. Absolutely Free Radio Ad #2
  5. “Glutton For Punishment…”
  6. America Drinks – 1969 Re-Mix
  7. Brown Shoes Don’t Make It – 1969 Re-Mix
  8. America Drinks & Goes Home #2 – 1969 Re-Mix

LP2 – Side 2

  • Laser Etching