Foxygen Announces New Album ‘Seeing Other People’ & Share Lead Single


Today, the Los Angeles-based duo Foxygen—composed of Sam France and Jonathan Rado—has announced they will release a brand-new album, Seeing Other People. Due out on April 26 via Jagjaguwar, the record marks the sixth album the group has released since forming in 2005. Paired with the announcement, Foxygen has shared the lead single off the album, “Livin’ A Lie,” as well as an accompanying music video.

Foxygen’s forthcoming nine-song release was written and produced by the band at Los Feliz, California’s Sonora Recorders, with engineering and mixing by Shawn Everett. Famed studio drummer Jim Keltner, who served as a session drummer for the Traveling Wilburys as well on solo albums for Beatles members, also augments the duo throughout Seeing Other People. Per the band, the new album falls in the genre of “Sad-Boy Plastic-Soul Adult-Contemporary Cartoon-Noir Music” and finds the group “chopping up pop culture and spinning it into a sticky, wicked web.”

Explained Sam France in a letter about the album:

For me Seeing Other People just means goodbye: Goodbye to the drugs, to the partying. Goodbye to my twenties now, Goodbye to my Saint Laurent-model-body. Goodbye to the touring circus – that’s right, no more shows or tours for a while. Goodbye, hopefully, to the anxiety attacks. Goodbye to beating myself up because I didn’t fit into those leather pants anymore. Fuck it. Goodbye to the facilities. And goodbye the leeches in my life. I know a lot of gritty stories about a lot of players in this business but you’ll have to read between the lines.

In addition to the album announcement, Foxygen has released Seeing Other People‘s first single titled “Livin’ A Lie,” which touches on the pitfalls of seeking fame and is complemented by laidback instrumentation. The song’s newly released music video directed by Alessandra Lichtenfeld was filmed in Calabasas, California, and the band’s hometown in Westlake Village, California. Watch the music video for “Livin’ A Lie” below:

Seeing Other People Tracklist

  1. Work
  2. Mona
  3. Seeing Other People
  4. Face The Facts
  5. Livin’ A Lie
  6. The Thing Is
  7. News
  8. Flag At Half-Mast
  9. The Conclusion

Tour Dates for

We don’t currently have any upcoming shows for Foxygen.

Pro Tip: Click “Add to My Bands” above and we’ll notify you when Foxygen announces shows in your area.