Fontaines D.C. Reimagine Nick Drake Song For New Tribute Album ‘The Endless Coloured Ways’

Watch the official video for the Irish rockers’ take on a track off the late singer-songwriter’s Five Leaves Left.

By Nate Todd Mar 2, 2023 4:18 pm PST

Fontaines D.C. released a cover of Nick Drake’s “’Cello Song.” The reimagining is the first taste from a 25-track tribute album to the late singer-songwriter, The Endless Coloured Ways – The Songs Of Nick Drake, due out on July 7 via Chrysalis Records.

Nick Drake was an English singer-songwriter who released three albums — Five Leaves Left, Bryter Layter and Pink Moon — between 1969 and 1972. Drake died in 1974 from an overdose of prescribed antidepressants. While he didn’t achieve much commercial success while he was alive, he has since become a beloved and highly influential artist — as evidenced in the extensive tribute record The Endless Coloured Ways – The Songs Of Nick Drake.

Along with Irish rockers Fontaines D.C., The Endless Coloured Ways also see contributions from Ben Harper, Liz Phair, Feist, David Gray, Philip Selway, Joe Henry & Meshell Ndegeocello, Bombay Bicycle Club and more. Also in the works is a series of 7-inch records featuring the assembled artists culminating in the release of Nick Drake covering Bob Dylan’s “Tomorrow Is A Long Time.”

Manager of the Nick Drake Estate Cally Callomon and Chrysalis Records CEO Jeremy Lascelles conceived the tribute record. Lascelles detailed the project:

“Cally and I embarked on this venture with one simple brief to each of the artists – that they ignore the original recording of Nick’s, and reinvent the song in their own unique style. It was really humbling to hear so many similar responses, with everyone saying how important Nick’s music was to them, and how much they wanted to be part of this project. As the results came in one by one, we were thrilled by the brilliance and invention that each artist had shown. They had done exactly what we hoped for – they had made the song their own.”

Fontaines D.C. reimagining of Nick Drake’s “’Cello Song” arrived with a music video. Watch below:

Loading tour dates

The Endless Coloured Ways – The Songs Of Nick Drake’s 25 tracks unfold over four seasons. Check out the tracklist below:

Season 1:

  1. The Wandering Hearts – Voice From A Mountain (prelude)
  2. Fontaines DC – ‘Cello Song
  3. Camille – Hazey Jane II
  4. Mike Lindsay feat. Guy Garvey – Saturday Sun
  5. Bombay Bicycle Club and The Staves – Road
  6. Let’s Eat Grandma – From The Morning
  7. David Gray – Place To Be

Season 2:

  1. John Parish and Aldous Harding – Three Hours
  2. Stick In The Wheel – Parasite
  3. Ben Harper – Time Has Told Me
  4. Emeli Sandé – One Of These Things First
  5. Karine Polwart and Kris Drever – Northern Sky
  6. Craig Armstrong feat. Self Esteem – Black Eyed Dog

Season 3:

  1. Bombay Bicycle Club and The Staves – Road (reprise)
  2. Nadia Reid – Poor Boy
  3. Christian Lee Hutson feat. Elanor Moss – Which Will
  4. Skullcrusher and Gia Margaret – Harvest Breed
  5. Katherine Priddy – I Think They’re Leaving Me Behind
  6. AURORA – Pink Moon
  7. Joe Henry and Meshell Ndegeocello – Time Of No Reply

Season 4:

  1. Feist – River Man
  2. Liz Phair – Free Ride
  3. Philip Selway – Fly
  4. John Grant – Day Is Done
  5. The Wandering Hearts – Voice From A Mountain
JamBase Collections