Flying Lotus Announces ‘Flamagra (Instrumentals)’ Album & Shares Single

By Scott Bernstein Apr 27, 2020 1:59 pm PDT

Flying Lotus (Stephen Ellison) will release Flamagra (Instrumentals) via Warp on May 29. The new edition of 2019’s Flamagra focuses on the beats from the acclaimed album. “Black Balloons Reprise” (Instrumental) serves as the LP’s lead single.

“Whereas the original album featured a dream cast of vocal collaborators, this project places the masterful arrangements, electronics and musicianship at the forefront – a treasured peak under the hood of one of today’s most consistently innovative producers,” notes materials announcing Flamagra (Instrumentals). Thundercat, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Brandon Coleman, Justin Brown, Dennis Hamm, Taylor Graves, Ronald Bruner, Herbie Hancock, Deantoni Parks and Robert Glasper all join Ellison in contributing to the album.

Flamagra (Instrumentals) is due on CD, digital and as a limited edition 2-LP set with animated slipmat by Winston Hacking and Drew Tetz. Stream “Black Balloons Reprise” (Instrumental) below:

Flamagra (Instrumentals) Vinyl Tracklist

  • A1. Heroes
  • A2. Post Requisite
  • A3. Heroes In A Half Shell
  • A4. More (Instrumental)
  • A5. Capillaries
  • A6. Burning Down The House (Instrumental)
  • A7. Spontaneous (Instrumental)
  • B1. Takashi
  • B2. Pilgrim Side Eye
  • B3. All Spies
  • B4. Yellow Belly (Instrumental)
  • B5. Black Balloons Reprise (Instrumental)
  • C1. Fire Is Coming (Instrumental)
  • C2. Inside Your Home
  • C2. Actually Virtual (Instrumental)
  • C3. Andromeda
  • C5. Remind U
  • C6. Say Something
  • C7. Debbie Is Depressed
  • C8. Find Your Own Way Home
  • D1. The Climb (Instrumental)
  • D2. Pygmy
  • D3. 9 Carrots (Instrumental)
  • D4. FF4
  • D5. Land Of Honey (Instrumental)
  • D6. Thank U Malcolm
  • D7. Hot Oct.
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Collections