Drive-By Truckers Announce Surprise New Album ‘The New OK’ & Share Title Track Single


Drive-By Truckers will release their second album of 2020, The New OK, this Friday, October 2 on digital streaming services through ATO Records. Vinyl and CD editions of the surprise nine-track record, which the band previewed by sharing its title track, are due on Friday, December 18.

The New OK includes material recorded during the same sessions that yielded The Unraveling, an album the band put out back in January, as well as songs penned by frontman Patterson Hood during what he dubbed, “this endless summer of protests, riots, political shenanigans and pandemic horrors.” The new album also features a cover of The Ramones’ “The KKK Took My Baby Away” featuring lead vocals from bassist Mike Patton.


Patterson Hood described The New OK as “a full album that hopefully balances out the darkness of our current situation with a hope for better days and nights ahead.” Read more from Patterson about the LP, which was mixed by longtime DBT producer David Barbe:

To call these past few months trying would be a dramatic understatement. Our lives are intertwined with our work in ways that give us our best songs and performances. It is a life that has often rewarded us beyond our wildest dreams. Speaking for myself, I don’t have hobbies, I have this thing I do. To be sidelined with a brand new album and have to sit idly while so much that I love and hold dear falls apart before my very eyes has been intense, heartbreaking, anger provoking and very depressing. It has gone to the very heart of our livelihoods and threatened near everything that we have spent our lives trying to build. Here’s to the hope that we can make 2021 a better year than this one has been. In the meantime, here’s to THE NEW OK!

Listen to “The New OK” below:


The New OK Tracklist

  1. The New Ok
  2. Tough To Let Go
  3. The Unraveling
  4. The Perilous Night
  5. Sarah’s Flame
  6. Sea Island Lonely
  7. The Distance
  8. Watching The Orange Clouds
  9. The KKK Took My Baby Away
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive