Digital Tape Machine Release Be Here Now Today


The long-in-the-making debut album by electronic dance act Digital Tape Machine was released today on iTunes. DTM draws its members from many Chicago acts – Umphrey’s McGee, Strange Arrangement, Liquid Soul, Land of Atlantis and The Hue.

The band started work on Be Here Now way back in 2010 as they created songs they feel have a “video game sound.” In fact, Digital Tape Machine originally intended to be a studio band, but the band members changed their minds and took their songs to the stage. After years of gigging, the studio project was “kicked” into high gear with the launch and successful completion of a Kickstarter campaign. Be Here Now was recorded at I.V. Labs, a studio which counts artists ranging from Patrick Stump to Umphrey’s to Lupe Fiasco among its clients. The album features 10 tracks written by the band that finally brings DTM’s original intention to be a “studio band” back around full circle.

Be Here Now is available for purchase through iTunes.

Watch a 12-minute feature on the recording of Be Here Now.

DTM will be hitting many festivals this summer including Summer Set, Electric Forest, Summer Camp, Camp Bisco and All Good.


Featured Articles

More articles