Watch Dawes & Brad Paisley’s Playful ‘Werewolves Of Nashville’ Cover & More At The Ryman

The collaboration also featured the debut of a new song “about the epidemic after the epidemic” called, “Raining Inside.”

By Andy Kahn Mar 6, 2023 11:18 am PST

Dawes held a concert at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on Saturday night and were joined by locally-based singer-songwriter/guitarist Brad Paisley. The extensive guest appearance featured the debut of a new collaborative song and a fun take on a Warren Zevon classic.

Paisley first emerged for the final two songs of the first set. He sang lead on “Raining Inside,” a new song played live for the first time that he described as “about the epidemic after the epidemic.” When welcoming Paisley to The Ryman stage, Dawes frontman Taylor Goldsmith revealed the band recently recorded the about-to-be-premiered song with Paisley.

Next came a set-closing performance of Warren Zevon’s “Werewolves Of London.” Goldsmith altered the chorus to “Werewolves of Nashville” and changed some of the lyrics in the verses to reference Music City, its residents — including Jack White, Jason Isbell and Paisley — and its surroundings.

Dennis Kwasnick (See 4 videos)
Dawes (See 122 videos) and Brad Paisley (See 3 videos)

Late for the Sky (See 3 videos)
Dawes (See 122 videos) and Brad Paisley (See 3 videos)

The second set began with Goldsmith on stage alone performing a solo acoustic rendition of “The Game.” Paisley then reemerged with an acoustic guitar. He told the audience that he and Goldsmith had been writing together and that at least three co-written songs will appear on his next album, Son Of The Mountains. They jokingly teased “Margaritas In Nashville” before quickly abandoning it.

The duo then played “Same Here,” which Paisley co-wrote with Goldsmith and Lee Thomas Miller. Paisley recently released the song a single featuring Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, with proceeds from the song going to UNITED24. Paisley exited after “Same Here,” and the rest of the members of Dawes joined Goldsmith to play the rest of the second set.

Watch the start of Saturday’s second set at The Ryman below:

Dennis Kwasnick (See 4 videos)
Dawes (See 122 videos) and Taylor Goldsmith (See 13 videos)

Late for the Sky (See 3 videos)
Dawes (See 122 videos) , Taylor Goldsmith (See 13 videos) and Brad Paisley (See 3 videos)

Loading tour dates


Dawes at Ryman Auditorium

Set 1
  • Everything Is Permanent
  • Coming Back to a Man
  • Things Happen
  • Less Than Five Miles Away
  • Something in Common
  • Still Feel Like a Kid
  • Never Gonna Say Goodbye
  • Someone Else's Café/Doomscroller Tries to Relax
  • Raining Inside  
  • Werewolves of London  
Set 2
  • The Game  
  • Margaritas In Nashville  
  • Same Here  
  • Ghost in the Machine
  • Living in the Future
  • From the Right Angle
  • Waiting for Your Call
  • Didn't Fix Me
  • Comes in Waves
  • When My Time Comes
  • All Your Favorite Bands
  • A Little Bit of Everything
  • Unknown Song
JamBase Collections