Dave Matthews Band Announces ‘Live Trax Vol. 57: Meadows Music Theatre’ Featuring 1998 Concert In Hartford

The set features the classic Dave Matthews Band lineup on a slew of DMB classics.

By Nate Todd Sep 9, 2021 4:12 pm PDT

Dave Matthews Band announced the next installment in their Live Trax archival recording series. Live Trax Vol. 57: Meadows Music Theatre features DMB’s August 1, 1998 concert from Hartford, Connecticut and is available for pre-order ahead of the release on October 22.

The ‘98 Hartford show at Music Meadows Theatre (now Xfinity Theatre) features the classic lineup of DMB: guitarist/vocalist Dave Matthews, drummer Carter Beauford, saxophonist LeRoi Moore, bassist Stefan Lessard and fiddler Boyd Tinsley. The Hartford play kicked off the final month of an extensive spring/summer tour around the band’s landmark album Before These Crowded Streets, which arrived on April 28, 1998.

The Meadows Music show got underway with a big “Seek Up” that clocked in at nearly 18 minutes and headed into the debut of the rare “Heartbeat Intro” (which also appeared on the previous Live Trax release), a jam held together by Carter’s kick drum beat and used as a segue into Before These Crowded Streets companion openers “Pantala Naga Pampa” and “Rapunzel.”

The set continued with a slew of now classic songs including “Don’t Drink the Water,” “Two Step”, “Crush,” “Say Goodbye,” “The Best of What’s Around,” “Stay (Wasting Time),” “Satellite,” and a “Tripping Billies” set closer. The encore kicks of with “Crash Into Me” followed by a tease of Bob Marley’s “Stir It Up” ahead of the classic closer, Bob Dylan’s “All Along The Watchtower.”

Live Trax Vol. Vol. 57: Meadows Music Theatre is available on CD as well as downloadable in FLAC and MP3 formats.

Live Trax Vol. Vol. 57: Meadows Music Theatre Tracklist:

Disc One

  1. Seek Up
  2. Pantala Naga Pampa>Rapunzel
  3. #41
  4. Don’t Drink the Water
  5. Granny
  6. Two Step
  7. Crush

Disc 2

  1. Say Goodbye
  2. The Stone
  3. Best of What’s Around
  4. Lover Lay Down
  5. Stay (Wasting Time)
  6. Satellite
  7. Tripping Billies
  8. Crash Into Me
  9. All Along the Watchtower
JamBase Collections