Cover Alert | Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires Cover Springsteen

A number of acts who have been influenced by Bruce Springsteen have covered tracks off The Boss’s 1984 album Born In The U.S.A. for a tribute album dubbed Dead Man’s Town that will be released on September 16 via Lightning Rod Records. Blitzen Trapper, Jason Isbell, Trampled By Turtles, the North Mississippi Allstars and Nicole Atkins are among the acts who have re-imagined songs off Springsteen’s best-selling album for Dead Man’s Town.

Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires had the honors of deconstructing the title track from Born In The U.S.A. for the new tribute album. “‘Born in the U.S.A.’ is one of my favorite songs of Springsteen’s, making it one of my favorite ever. I love that the song paints a picture of struggle in the face of the American dream, and the irony in the chorus is delivered with such force that it nearly transcends irony altogether,” Isbell told Rolling Stone, who premiered Jason & Amanda’s take on the tune earlier today:

Here’s the tracklist for Dead Man’s Town:

1. Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires, “Born in the U.S.A.”
2. Apache Relay, “Cover Me”
3. Quaker City Nighthawks, “Darlington County”
4. Blitzen Trapper, “Working on the Highway”
5. Joe Pug, “Downbound Train”
6. Low, “I’m on Fire”
7. Holly Williams, “No Surrender”
8. Ryan Culwell, “Bobby Jean”
9. Trampled by Turtles, “I’m Goin’ Down”
10. Justin Townes Earle, “Glory Days”
11. Nicole Atkins, “Dancing in the Dark”
12. North Mississippi All-Stars, “My Hometown”

[via Rolling Stone]