Carlos Santana Shares New Single With The Isley Brothers On 70th Birthday


Legendary guitarist Carlos Santana is marking his 70th birthday today with the release of a new single. The new track is included on the forthcoming Santana and The Isley Brothers collaborative album Power Of Peace, which comes out on July 28.

The renowned Mexican-American guitar player affiliated with his home in the Bay Area, at the age of 22 Santana burst onto the rock scene in 1969 at the historic Woodstock music festival. Weeks later his namesake band issued their standout self-titled debut album, further launching a highly successful and influential career.

Santana enlisted R&B icons Ronnie Isley and Ernie Isley for Power Of Peace, the latin rock group’s 24th studio album. The Isleys, Carlos and his wife, Santana drummer Cindy Blackman Santana, selected the 13-tracks making up the album, including the new original “I Remember,” which showcases the drummer on lead vocals. The other songs on the album are covers such as Stevie Wonder’s “Higher Ground,” Willie Dixon’s “I Just Want to Make Love to You,” Curtis Mayfield’s “Gypsy Woman” and Burt Bacharach and Hal David’s “What the World Needs Now Is Love.”

Another song on Power Of Peace is a rendition of Marvin Gaye’s “Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)” from the landmark 1971 LP What’s Going On. Listen to the song, which NPR Music premiered, below:

Power Of Peace Tracklist

  1. Are You Ready
  2. Total Destruction To Your Mind
  3. Higher Ground
  4. God Bless The Child
  5. I Remember
  6. Body Talk
  7. Gypsy Woman
  8. I Just Want To Make Love To You
  9. Love, Peace, Happiness
  10. What The World Needs Now is Love Sweet love
  11. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
  12. Let The Rain Fall On Me
  13. Let There Be Peace On Earth

Tour Dates for Santana