Carl Broemel Announces New Solo Album ‘Wished Out’ & Shares Single


My Morning Jacket guitarist Carl Broemel will issue a new solo album, Wished Out, on September 21 through Stocks In Asia/Thirty Tigers. Broemel will tour in support of his third solo album that features the lead single “Starting From Scratch.”

Broemel produced and engineered Wished Out at his newly-built home studio in Nashville. The follow-up to 2016’s 4th Of July features contributions from My Morning Jacket keyboardist Bo Koster and bassist Tom Blankenship, as well as former Deer Tick keyboardist Robbie Crowell and former Sebadoh drummer Russ Pollard.

“I wanted to get things moving,” Broemel stated. “My songwriting can be very mellow. I love that mood, but I needed more balance this time around. I needed more energy! Wished Out is all about the yin and yang.”

Broemel will embark on a U.S. tour in support of Wished Out beginning in September and continuing through November. Steelism will support the performances, with tickets going on sale this Friday, August 3.

Watch the “Starting From Scratch” video below:

Wished Out Tracklist

  1. Dark Matter
  2. Wished Out
  3. Malibu Shadow
  4. Starting From Scratch
  5. Rain Check
  6. Just For You
  7. Second Fiddle
  8. Out Of Reach

Tour Dates for Carl Broemel