The Bogie Band Feat. Joe Russo Details Debut Album ‘The Prophets In The City’ & Shares Title Track

Listen to “The Prophets in The City (Arrival, Balance, Discipline, Joy),” from the release coming out on March 25 via Royal Potato Family.

By Andy Kahn Jan 18, 2022 7:17 am PST

The Bogie Band featuring Joe Russo will release their debut album, The Prophets In The City, on March 25 through Royal Potato Family. The band shared the eight-minute title track single, “The Prophets in The City (Arrival, Balance, Discipline, Joy).”

Founded by saxophonist Stuart Bogie and drummer Joe Russo, the pair confirmed work on the pending release last summer, while sharing the album track “The Witness.” Bogie and Russo, whose numerous previous collaborations include Pirata and Bogie regularly performing with Joe Russo’s Almost Dead, are joined on the nine-track record by members of New York City-rooted projects Antibalas, The Dap-Kings, Budos Band, St. Vincent, Red Baraat, and David Byrne’s American Utopia.

“The music we’ve created here marvels at the endless connections, ironies, analogies and human mysteries that unfold in New York City, which simultaneously speaks for many cities throughout the world,” Bogie stated. “Through observing its humanity, we hope to invoke the motion of the spirits.”

“These are deep, thoughtful, beautiful and powerful compositions that could have only come from the mind and heart of Stuart Bogie,” Russo added. “I’m so proud of this record and can’t wait to share it with the world.”

The Bogie Band featuring Joe Russo will celebrate the release of The Prophets In The City with concerts at Brooklyn Bowl Philadelphia on March 24 and at Brooklyn Bowl in New York City on March 26. Tickets will be available this Friday, January 21.

Stream The Bogie Band featuring Joe Russo’s single “The Prophets in The City (Arrival, Balance, Discipline, Joy)” below:

The Prophets In The City Tracklist

  1. The Prophets In The City (Arrival, Balance, Discipline, Joy)
  2. The Witnesses
  3. We Met Them By The Water
  4. Walking With The Holy Fools
  5. Take Them On
  6. We Organize
  7. Joy (Reprise)
  8. The Struggle
  9. God In Us

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections