Watch Billy Joel & Stevie Nicks’ ‘Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around’ Duet At Co-Headlining Tour Opener

See the rock legends team up for the Tom Petty co-write.

By Nate Todd Mar 14, 2023 9:37 am PDT

Billy Joel and Stevie Nicks delivered the first of a series of 2023 co-headlining concerts on Friday on their Two Icons — One Night Tour. The rock legends dueted on “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” and more at SoFi Stadium in Los Angeles.

The Two Icons — One Night Tour sees both Nicks and Joel offering sets. At SoFi, Stevie performed first and opened her set with a song from her 1981 solo debut album, Bella Donna, “Outside The Rain.” The Fleetwood Mac classic “Dreams” came next followed by another solo cut, “If Anyone Falls.”

“Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” fell in the fourth slot and saw Joel emerging to sing the part originally sung by Tom Petty. The late great singer-songwriter co-wrote “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” with his Heartbreakers’ bandmate lead guitarist Mike Campbell. Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers were also the backing band on the sole song not written or co-written by Nicks on Bella Donna.

Watch Billy Joel and Stevie Nicks duet on “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” below:

Concert Fanatic (See 4 videos)
Stevie Nicks (See 10 videos) and Billy Joel (See 39 videos)

Elsewhere in Nicks’ set, the singer-songwriter delivered the first “Fall From Grace,” off her 2001 LP Trouble in Shangri-La, since 2011. Stevie also offered the Fleetwood Mac song “Sara” for the first time in a solo setting since 2008, as per SetlistFM stats. Additionally, the SoFi Stadium concert marked Nicks’ first performance since the death of her Fleetwood Mac bandmate Christine McVie. Stevie delivered an emotional tribute to McVie on “Landslide’ to conclude her set.

Joel kicked off his set with the classic “My Life” followed by more favorites in “Movin’ Out (Anthony’s Song)” and “Vienna.” As Joel hinted at in an interview with the Los Angeles Times, he and Nicks both guested on each other’s songs with Stevie returning the favor on “And So It Goes” off Joel’s 1989 album Storm Front. Joel wrapped his main set with more favorites like “Scenes From An Italian Restaurant” and “Piano Man” before delivering a hit-filled encore which included “We Didn’t Start The Fire, “Big Shot” and closer “You May Be Right.”

Loading tour dates

Loading tour dates


Stevie Nicks at SoFi Stadium

  • Runnin' Down a Dream  
  • Outside the Rain
  • Dreams  
  • If Anyone Falls
  • Stop Draggin' My Heart Around
  • Fall From Grace  
  • For What It's Worth  
  • Gypsy  
  • Wild Heart
  • Bella Donna
  • Stand Back
  • Free Fallin'  
  • Gold Dust Woman  
  • Sara  
  • Edge of Seventeen
  • Rhiannon  
  • Landslide  


Billy Joel at SoFi Stadium

  • The Natural (The End Title)  
  • My Life  
  • Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
  • Vienna
  • Zanzibar  
  • An Innocent Man
  • Don't Ask Me Why
  • Just the Way You Are
  • Allentown
  • And So It Goes
  • Say Goodbye to Hollywood
  • Sometimes a Fantasy
  • Only the Good Die Young
  • The River of Dreams  
  • Nessun dorma  
  • Scenes From an Italian Restaurant
  • Piano Man
  • We Didn't Start the Fire
  • Uptown Girl
  • It's Still Rock and Roll to Me
  • Big Shot
  • You May Be Right  
JamBase Collections