Ben Harper Announces New Album ‘Winter Is For Lovers’ & Shares Single

By Scott Bernstein Sep 1, 2020 7:53 am PDT

Ben Harper prepped Winter Is For Lovers, a new album for ANTI-, using just his Monteleone lap steel guitar. Harper previewed the 15-track collection with the single “Inland Empire” and an accompanying video. A limited edition signed and numbered vinyl pressing of Winter Is For Lovers is available now with digital and standard viynl releases to follow.

Harper recorded Winter Is For Lovers in August at The Folk Music Store, his grandparents’ instrument shop, where Ben worked as a youngster. All 15 original compositions on the album are instrumental, marking a first for the acclaimed musician.

Read a statement from Ben Harper:

This is my first entirely instrumental album. It is stark, bare bones, just me and my lap steel guitar. It is purposefully produced to sound intimate and spare, as if I am playing in your living room. Upon first listen it may be surprising or catch some people off guard because it is dramatically stripped-down in contrast to a lot of what we hear today.

I am a big fan of flamenco, classical, Hawaiian and blues guitar, and I hope these influences are all somehow represented within Winter Is For Lovers.

I have been composing this record for most of my adult life, and the challenge this record presented to me was completely new. To record an entire album with one guitar and no words, where every single nuance was under a microscope, was more demanding than any record I have made to date, and also more rewarding.

Watch the video for Winter Is For Lovers single “Inland Empire” below:

Winter Is For Lovers Tracklist

  1. Istanbul
  2. Manhattan
  3. Joshua Tree
  4. Inland Empire
  5. Harlem
  6. Lebanon
  7. London
  8. Toronto
  9. Verona
  10. Brittany
  11. Montreal
  12. Bizanet
  13. Toronto (Reprise)
  14. Islip
  15. Paris
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Collections