A$AP Rocky’s First Album Since 2018 Set For Release

The rapper has hinted at a new record since late 2022.

By Nate Todd Jun 24, 2024 4:18 pm PDT

A$AP Rocky’s first album since 2018 finally has a release date. Don’t Be Dumb arrives on August 30 via A$AP Worldwide/RCA Records and is available for pre-order via Rocky’s American Sabotage.

While it’s his first album since 2018’s Testing, A$AP Rocky has long-teased Don’t Be Dumb. In late 2022, he said the album was finished and Pitchfork included the record in its ‘23 and ‘24 editions of Most Anticipated Albums.


“A$AP Rocky’s life has changed a lot since he released Testing in 2018,” Pitchfork wrote in 2024. “He’s had two children with his partner, Rihanna, and, more concerningly, he must stand trial for allegedly shooting his former friend Terell “A$AP Relli” Ephron in 2021. His next album is apparently called Don’t Be Dumb after once being referred to as All Smiles (and maybe having a Morrissey feature). Amid the changes, Rocky released two songs in 2023, “Same Problems?” and “Riot (Rowdy Pipe’n).”

“People [have to realize], man it’s not like I’m out here just doing furniture and clothes—-no, I’m working on music every day and I’m just taking my time,” Rocky told GQ in 2022. “It takes me longer because I care. I’m [trying to] make a body of work that represents that year but also lasts and it ages like fine wine. I don’t want to do songs [just] to stay relevant or prevalent in the rap game.”

Rocky also noted in GQ that he’s been working with producer Metro Boomin. While the official tracklist has yet to arrive, Rocky has released a stirng of solo singles over the past two years. Watth the music video for the most recent, “Riot (Rowdy Pipe’n),” below:

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections