Angel Olsen Announces New Album ‘Whole New Mess’ & Shares Single


Angel Olsen will issue a new album entitled Whole New Mess via Jagjaguwar on August 28 . Olsen previewed her first completely solo album since 2012 by sharing a video for its title track.

Whole New Mess features a total of 11 tracks, nine of which appeared on her 2019 album, All Mirrors. This time around, Olsen recorded the songs by herself with just her voice and a guitar. Angel worked on Whole New Mess at a Catholic church in Anacortes, Washington dubbed “The Unknown” that was converted into a studio by Mount Eerie’s Phil Elverum and producer Nicholas Wilbur.


“I hadn’t been to The Unknown, but I knew about its energy. I wanted to go sit with the material and be with it in a way that felt like a residency,” Olsen said in a statement announcing the album. Angel was hipped to The Unknown by Michael Harris, who accompanied her during the recording process. “I didn’t need a lot, since it was just me and a guitar. But I wanted someone else there to hold me accountable for trying different things,” she explained.

Angel will celebrate the album’s release date with Cosmic Stream 3, the next installment of her livestream series, which will originate from Asheville’s Hazel Robinson Amphitheater. Tonight, Olsen will be the musical guest on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

Olsen tapped longtime collaborator Ashley Connor to direct the “Whole New Mess” video. Check it out below:


Whole New Mess Tracklist

  1. Whole New Mess
  2. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)
  3. (New Love) Cassette
  4. (We Are All Mirrors)
  5. (Summer Song)
  6. Waving, Smiling
  7. Tonight (Without You)
  8. Lark Song
  9. Impasse (Workin’ For The Name)
  10. Chance (Forever Love)
  11. What It Is (What It Is)
  • Angel Olsen & Hand Habits Cover Tom Petty's 'Walls'

    Angel Olsen & Hand Habits Cover Tom Petty's 'Walls'

    Angel Olsen welcomed Hand Habits (Meg Duffy) for a gorgeous cover of Tom Petty’s “Walls (Circus)” on her ‘Cosmic Stream 2’ livestream earlier this week.

JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive