Allman Brothers Band ‘Peach Picks: Cream Of The Crop 2003’ Due In May


The Allman Brothers Band will issue Peach Picks: Cream Of The Crop 2003 on May 16 via the group’s Peach Records imprint. Warren Haynes served as supervising producer for the collection of 36 tracks recorded by the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame band between July 25 – August 10, 2003.

Haynes was joined in the 2003 lineup of the Allman Brothers Band by founding members Gregg Allman, Jaimoe and Butch Trucks as well as Derek Trucks, Marc Quinones and Oteil Burbridge. The 36-track collection was recorded at shows in Indianapolis, Pittsburgh, Darien Center, Hartford, Charlotte and Raleigh. No songs are repeated over the course of the compilation. Each of the six concerts will also be made available in their entireties.

While the live recordings were part of the “Instant Live” CD series, this marks the first time this music will be made available digitally. Guests on the compilation are Susan Tedeschi, Karl Denson and Branford Marsalis. “That was an important time in the growth of that incarnation of the ABB. We had just released Hittin’ The Note and everybody was psyched to be playing a lot of new material from an album we all were very proud of and there was new life being breathed into a lot of the older songs,” said Haynes in a statement. “Warren was asked to oversee this release because he has a keen ear, a great memory for individual show performances and is a master at song sequencing,” added longtime manager and Executive Producer Bert Holman. “The entire process went very well; we were all on the same page about what song should be included and in what order, and everybody in the band agreed with the final choices.”

Peach Picks: Cream Of The Crop 2003 Tracklist

Disc One

  1. Don’t Want You No More
  2. It’s Not My Cross To Bear
  3. Black Hearted Woman
  4. Rocking Horse
  5. Hot ‘Lanta
  6. Old Before My Time
  7. Come And Go Blues
  8. Woman Across The River
  9. Desdemona
  10. The High Cost Of Low Living
  11. Hoochie Coochie Man
  12. Revival

Disc Two

  1. Trouble No More
  2. Midnight Rider
  3. You Don’t Love Me
  4. Who To Believe
  5. Stormy Monday
  6. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
  7. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed

Disc Three

  1. Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More
  2. Worried Down With The Blues
  3. Statesboro Blues
  4. Stand Back
  5. Melissa
  6. Mountain Jam
  7. Layla

Disc Four

  1. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’
  2. Done Somebody Wrong
  3. Gambler’s Roll
  4. Soulshine
  5. Who’s Been Talking
  6. Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright
  7. Wasted Words
  8. Dreams
  9. Whipping Post
  10. One Way Out