Meshell Ndegeocello: Nina Simone Tribute LP, Tour, MP3


Following the release of 2011's critically acclaimed Weather, Meshell Ndegeocello announces the release of her 10th studio album, Pour une âme souveraine ("For a sovereign soul"), a dedication to fellow musician Nina Simone. Joined by musicians
Chris Bruce (guitar), Jebin Bruni (keys) and Deantoni Parks (drums), the singer-songwriter, rapper, bassist, and vocalist reworked some of the tracks made famous by the iconic musician. Guests on the album include Sinead O'Connor, Lizz Wright, Valerie June, Tracy Wannomae, Toshi Reagon and Cody ChesnuTT.

To celebrate the release of the album, Meshell is sharing the iconic track "Be My Husband". Flush with stomps, claps and chants, Meshell is accompanied on vocals by New York singer-songwriter Valerie June. Click here to download and listen.

As Meshell describes, this album is “a dedication to Nina Simone and her incredible influence but it is also a dedication to the single, interior life we all experience.” Revered by Meshell, Nina Simone was a powerful influence both musically and politically. Her music was highly instrumental in the fight for equal rights in the United States. "She wanted success, was pressured to make hits, but her own sound was still irrepressible," explains Meshell. "She had things to say, she protested. She was a loud, proud black, female voice during a time when black female voices were not encouraged to make themselves heard."

Comprised of a mix of traditional classics ("Feelin' Good"), songs written by Nina Simone ("Real Real"), or for her ("To Be Young, Gifted and Black" by Weldon Irvine), the album represents a full spectrum of Nina Simone's work and life. See the tracklisting and all scheduled tour dates below.

Pour une âme souveraine Track List

  • 1. Please Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
  • 2. Suzanne
  • 3. Real Real feat. Toshi Reagon
  • 4. House of the Rising Sun feat. Toshi Reagon
  • 5. Turn Me On
  • 6. Feelin' good
  • 7. Don’t Take All Night feat. Sinead O’Connor
  • 8. Nobody’s Fault But Mine feat. Lizz Wright
  • 9. Be My Husband feat. Valerie June
  • 10. Black is the Color of My True Loves Hair feat. Valerie June
  • 11. See Line Woman feat. Tracy Wannomae
  • 12. Either Way I Lose
  • 13. To Be Young, Gifted and Black feat. Cody ChesnuTT
  • 14. Four Women

    Meshell Ndegeocello Tour Dates

  • 07/20: New York, NY @ Lincoln Center, Avery Fisher Hall
  • 07/28: New York, NY @ The Fats Waller Dance Party, Annunciation Park on Bruce Paltrow Field
  • 08/04: Oakland, CA @ Art & Soul Festival
  • 08/11: Burnaby, CA @ Burnaby Blues & Roots Festival
  • 08/27: Big Indian, NY @ Women's Music Summit, Full Moon
  • 08/28: Big Indian, NY @ Women's Music Summit, Full Moon
  • 08/29: Big Indian, NY @ Women's Music Summit, Full Moon
  • 08/30: Big Indian, NY @ Women's Music Summit, Full Moon
  • 08/31: Big Indian, NY @ Women's Music Summit, Full Moon
  • 09/07: Pittsburgh, PA @ City of Asylum
  • 09/08: Pittsburgh, PA @ City of Asylum
  • 10/19: Durham, NC @ Duke University, Reynolds Industry Theater
  • 10/20: Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall Theater
  • 12/07: Los Angeles, CA @ UCLA Live

    Meshell Ndegeocello Tour Dates :: Meshell Ndegeocello News


    [Published on: 7/20/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!


    Related Goods