Pete Francis: New Album

New Pete Francis Album The Movie We Are In out May 18 Recorded With
Producer Jeff Trott and Members of Beck, Gnarls Barkley, and Nine Inch Nails' Bands

Pete Francis
New York City singer-songwriter Pete Francis is set to release his new album The Movie We Are In on May 18. Pete decided that a new approach was key for his next record. Instead of his usual self-produced style of album making, he uprooted his life and assembled an entirely new crew with in Los Angeles with producer Jeff Trott (right hand man to Sheryl Crow as writer and guitarist).

Francis commented, "I wanted to bring a modern element into my music. When first speaking with Jeff Trott, I quickly realized he had great musical instincts and that he was getting me and he brought ideas to the table that I hadn't imagined." Trott and Francis gathered friends and sought after musicians for recording The Movie We Are In's colorful landscape. Having worked with artists such as Beck, Nine Inch Nails, Gnarls Barkley, Willie Nelson, Queens of the Stone Age, Dr. Dre, and Scott Weiland, the musicians (Brian LeBarton, Justin Meldal-Johnsen, John O'Brien, Victor Indrizzo and others) provided an extraordinary musical palette of talent and sensibility.

The results successfully integrate Pete's songwriting and natural instrumentation with modern, inventive sounds. The opening track "Glue" is a great example of what's to follow on this album with its mix of indie and classic rock, electronic and acoustic, past and future... The production offers new textures with repeated listens, as subtle guitar riffs, synth touches, horn swells, and even the sounds of the Ethiopian cumbus stand out.

It would be hard to deny Francis his stripes in the independent music scene. He formed the fiercely independent band Dispatch in 1995 whose uncommonly loyal fan-base bid them farewell at The Last Dispatch concert in 2004 with 110,000 people from around the world attending. Since then his career has infiltrated many musical worlds including performing his solo music at festivals around the country, reuniting with his Dispatch pals for three sold out nights at Madison Square Garden, having his solo music featured in films and television, and performing at the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C. Commenting on his new album and departure from his Dispatch days, Francis says, "It's good to get out of your comfort zone. I tried to let this motto resonate at every turning point of this record's evolution."

Track Listing:

01 Glue.mp3
02 Cartoon Sharks
03 Light Years
04 Good Man
05 Red Cloud Road
06 Love Shakes You Down
07 Light Up My Day
08 Yellow Bird
09 St. Paul’s Fair
10 Constant Fire
11 I Didn't Know I Built It

Pete Francis Tour Dates :: Pete Francis News :: Pete Francis Concert Reviews

[Published on: 2/24/10]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »


Related Goods