Earl Greyhound: New Album


Earl Greyhound
Brooklyn trio Earl Greyhound will release their second full length album, Suspicious Package, a blistering rock inferno, on April 13. Suspicious Package was recorded at Red Bull Studios in Santa Monica, CA under the nimble and keen production auspices of Dave Schiffman (Mars Volta, Red Hot Chili Peppers, System of a Down).

The band formed in 2002 with the collaboration of songwriters Matt Whyte and Kamara Thomas, who began performing regularly as a duo in New York City. All the while, they were crafting the unique sound and songs that would form the foundation for a colossal rock band. Their influences swept from the strident English three-and four-pieces of the 70's, to the dark pop and heavy grunge grooves of the 90's, to the transcendental, noisy acid sounds of modern rock. In 2005, Earl Greyhound recorded their first album, Soft Targets, but also hit their first snag when drummer Chris Bear left to pursue his fortunes with the band Grizzly Bear. Reluctant to release the album without a permanent drummer, Matt and Kamara vowed to play relentlessly until their dream drummer found them.

Later, guitar player Kirk Douglass (The Roots) witnessed a show and brought his friend and Gold Crowns band mate Ricc Sheridan to the next few gigs. Says Ricc, "I awoke from a dream one night, and I knew this was my band." A few weeks later, a rockneck-inducing jam confirmed that the band had found its soul mate, and they hit the ground running. Soft Targets and Earl Greyhound's wrecking ball of a live show earned them oodles of fans and critical acclaim from The New Yorker, SPIN, Rolling Stone, JamBase, Brooklyn Vegan and Pitchfork, among others.

The next three years were spent touring the U.S., Canada and Japan as well as opening for Gov't Mule, Chris Cornell and Saul Williams.

Suspicious Package marks a turning point in the band's maturation since the benefit of Sheridan's full creative collaboration. Listeners will notice a marked expansion into the higher reaches of the sonic territories.

Suspicious Package Track Listing
1. The Eyes Of Cassandra (Part 1)
2. The Eyes Of Cassandra (Part 2)
3. Oye Vaya
4. Ghost And The Witness
5. Shotgun
6. Holy Immortality
7. Sea Of Japan
8. Black Sea Vacation
9. Bill Evans
10. Out Of Air
11. Misty Morning

Earl Greyhound tour dates available here.

And for more on Earl Greyhound, see our 2007 feature here.


[Published on: 2/8/10]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »