The Octopus Project: New EP


The Octopus Project
Springing from the boroughs of Austin, TX, the Octopus Project is excited to reveal the track listing and details for their forthcoming EP Golden Beds Enhanced, out July 14 (Peek-A-Boo Records). The Golden Beds is the follow-up to 2007's spectacular full-length Hello, Avalanche, which earned high praise from such tastemakers as Rolling Stone, Spin, The Village Voice and Pitchfork. The band will also be reissuing their first two albums, One Ten Hundred Thousand Million and Identification Parade, on vinyl towards the end of the summer.

The members of the Octopus Project (Josh Lambert, Yvonne Lambert, Toto Miranda and Ryan Figg) are collectors of sounds - beautiful, noisy, soothing exciting sounds; electronic, acoustic, natural and unnatural sounds. Since playing their first tentative shows in the summer of 1999, the Octopus Project has developed into a powerful and prolific group, both in the studio and on the stage. Following a handful of self-released recordings, the first proper full-length was 2002's Identification Parade, which also served as the occasion to launch their work as a touring band. Fast-forward to 2009, and we find our intrepid musicians three albums in, with a plethora of singles, remixes and collaborations under their belts and a worldwide touring schedule that has recently included the U.K.'s All Tomorrow's Parties festival, Taiwan's Spring Scream fest and the Coachella, Lollapalooza and Austin City Limits.

The Octopus Project will be touring extensively behind this EP, starting with a handful of dates at the end of June that will include an exciting 4th of July performance at Stubb's Outdoor Theater with Explosions in the Sky and The Wooden Birds. The quartet's club dates will also include a handful of non-traditional theater appearances where they will perform "Visual Music," a unique and somewhat psychedelic multimedia experience the band first presented to sold-out audiences at Austin's beloved Alamo Drafthouse Theater earlier this summer.

Golden Beds Enhanced track listing:
1. Wet Gold
2. Moon Boil
3. Rorol
4. Wood Trumpet
5. Half a Nice Day

The Octopus Project tour dates available here.

[Published on: 6/29/09]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »