Jeff Tweedy Responds To Jay Bennett Lawsuit

Jeff Tweedy Responds To Jay Bennett Lawsuit over Wilco Royalties

Jeff Tweedy
After publishing news (read below) that ex-Wilco member Jay Bennett is suing bandleader Jeff Tweedy for royalties, we received a note from Tweedy/Wilco's management with a response from Jeff:

"I know exactly as much as everyone else does. I've read the news and I honestly have no idea what these claims are based on. It was such a long time ago. Aside from everything else, I'm being sued for not paying someone for appearing in a movie I didn't produce. Go figure. I am truly sad it has come to this. I am equally convinced, however, that I have done nothing wrong and that this will be handled fairly and swiftly."

Former Wilco Keyboardist Jay Bennett Sues Jeff Tweedy For Royalties

Jay Bennett
Former Wilco member Jay Bennett is suing bandleader Jeff Tweedy for royalties he says he is owed for material during his seven years and five albums with Wilco, including money for the 2002 documentary "I Am Trying to Break Your Heart."

Bennett worked as the band's sound engineer and multi-instrumentalist from 1994 to 2001. On Monday (5/4/09), Bennett filed a breach-of-contract lawsuit asking for at least $50,000 in damages. Bennett claims he was compensated but only partially, and is still owed over 80 percent of his wages.

According to the lawsuit (via "As a recording musician in Wilco, Bennett is entitled to compensation for his services rendered in the form of continuing and perpetual artist royalty payments from."

Bennett worked on the albums Being There, Summerteeth, Mermaid Avenue, Mermaid Avenue Vol. II and Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.

In other Wilco news, the forthcoming album has been christened and we'll be welcoming Wilco (the album) (yes, that's the name) to the world on June 30. Here's the track listing:

1. Wilco (the song)
2. Deeper Down
3. One Wing
4. Bull Black Nova
5. You And I
6. You Never Know
7. Country Disappeared
8. Solitaire
9. I'll Fight
10. Sonny Feeling
11. Everlasting Everything

And you can download Wilco covering Woody Guthrie's "The Jolly Banker" here.

Wilco tour dates available here.

[Published on: 5/7/09]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »