OMD (Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark): English Electric


BMG is excited to announce that cornerstones of British electronic music, OMD (Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark), will return to jumpstart and rewire the canon with brand new album English Electric. Out April 9, the album was written, recorded, produced and mixed by OMD - Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys. English Electric is a 12-track letter to technology, space, love and a grand return to form for a band whose 1980 hit "Enola Gay" occupied the world's stage at last year's Olympics Opening Ceremony.

As percolating synth-pop is pulled along at different speeds and executed with needle-sharp finesse, late night electro ballads collide with big sounding club cuts on a record which also features three interlude tracks, including dystopian missive "Please Remain Seated" and "Decimal," which is accompanied by the suitably mechanical trailer directed by Henning M. Lederer. See the clip below.

As Andy McCluskey says of the album; "The overarching feel tends to be a sense of loss, of melancholia, that things haven't turned out the way you wanted them to, whether it be with technology or personal relationships."

This is the follow-up to 2010's History of Modern and the band's 12th album to date.

The original four-piece - Andy McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Malcolm Holmes and Martin Cooper - will be reunited once again this spring for a string of must-see shows, which commemorate the band's 35th anniversary. Tour dates will be announced soon.

English Electric Tracklisting:

  • 1. Please Remain Seated
  • 2. Metroland
  • 3. Night CafĂ©
  • 4. The Future Will Be Silent
  • 5. Helen of Troy
  • 6. Our System
  • 7. Kissing The Machine
  • 8. Decimal
  • 9. Stay With Me
  • 10. Dresden
  • 11. Atomic Ranch
  • 12. Final Song

    OMD Tour Dates :: OMD News


    [Published on: 1/15/13]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!