William Tyler & Marisa Anderson Announce New Album ‘Lost Futures’ & Share Title Track

By Andy Kahn Mar 18, 2021 7:34 am PDT

Guitarists William Tyler and Marisa Anderson will release their collaborative album Lost Futures through Thrill Jockey on August 27. The pair shared the record’s lead single and title track.

Nashville-based Tyler and Portland-based Anderson first connected in January 2020 at a tribute concert to David Berman held in Portland. The two then got together to record Lost Futures last September when Tyler joined Anderson in Portland for sessions held with producer Tucker Martine at his Flora Recording studio.

“There was an obvious and immediate affinity musically and personally which led to the feeling that we should try and do something together,” Anderson said. “But in January of 2020, both of us had pretty full schedules so it was more of a vague idea to do something, someday… then COVID hit.”

The title of the eight-song LP comes from, “writer Mark Fisher’s cultural theory of the loss of potential futures, the hopes and ideals which once felt inevitable but have since been interrupted.” Stream the Lost Futures title track below:

Lost Futures Tracklist

  1. News About Heaven
  2. Lost Futures
  3. Pray for Rain
  4. Something Will Come
  5. At the Edge of the World
  6. Hurricane Light
  7. Life and Casualty
  8. Haunted By Water
JamBase Collections