Wilco Offers Debuts At Solid Sound Festival


Wilco followed a guest-filled live band karaoke set on Friday by going it alone on Saturday at their Solid Sound Festival at MASS MoCA in North Adams, Massachusetts. The band mixed in a pair of debuts and just one song from their last three albums on Saturday with plenty of classics.

The sextet went heavy on material from 2004’s A Ghost Is Born during the first quarter on Saturday, including “Hell Is Chrome,” “Muzzle Of Bees” and “Company In Back.” Wilco went on to debut a new original titled “Empty Corner” in the eight slot and then presented the first full-band version of “White Wooden Cross,” which Jeff Tweedy debuted during his solo tour this past spring. Tweedy hinted that Wilco would perform new songs at Solid Sound and teased the forthcoming release of studio recordings in a recent interview.

Wilco then plucked “Remember The Mountain Bed” and “Hesitating Beauty” from their Mermaid Avenue collaborations with Billy Bragg. The rest of the set was heavy on staples such as “Bull Black Nova,” “Impossible Germany” and the pairing of “I Got You (At The End Of The Century)” and “Outtasite (Outta Mind).” For the encore, the six-piece capped the set with “A Shot In The Arm” and “I’m A Wheel.” Next up for the group is a European Tour that begins on September 4.

Watch fan-shot video of Wilco’s debut “Empty Corner” captured by Murph Murphington:


Wilco at MASS MoCA

  • Hell Is Chrome
  • Muzzle of Bees
  • I Am Trying to Break Your Heart
  • War on War
  • Company in My Back
  • I'll Fight
  • Shouldn't Be Ashamed
  • An Empty Corner  
  • White Wooden Cross
  • Box Full of Letters
  • Remember the Mountain Bed  
  • Hesitating Beauty  
  • Bull Black Nova
  • Laminated Cat  
  • Reservations
  • Side With the Seeds
  • Theologians
  • Someone to Lose
  • Impossible Germany
  • Red-Eyed and Blue
  • I Got You (At the End of the Century)
  • Outtasite (Outta Mind)
  • A Shot in the Arm
  • I'm a Wheel

Tour Dates for Wilco