Watkins Family Hour Confirms New Album ‘Vol. II’ & Shares Single

Hear Sara and Sean Watkins covering Tune-Yards' "Hypnotized"

By Nate Todd Jun 15, 2022 10:13 am PDT

Watkins Family Hour, the brother and sister duo of Sara Watkins and Sean Watkins, announced a new album, Vol. II, set for release on August 19. The Watkins previewed the new record with a cover of Tune-Yards’ “Hypnotized.”

Sara and Sean Watkins’ — who form two-thirds of the renowned band Nickel Creek with Sara also performing in the lauded supergroup I’m With HerVol. II is the duo’s third album following 2020’s Brother Sister. The duo took to the historic East West Studio in Los Angeles with producers David Boucher and Tyler Chester to cut the record. The new LP sees Sara and Sean paying tribute to another famed L.A. locale, Largo, which was where the Watkins Family Hour show had its start 20 years ago.

As such, the Watkins invited several renowned and longtime friends of the show to contribute to Vol. II including Fiona Apple, Jon Brion, Jackson Browne, Madison Cunningham, Lucius, Gaby Moreno, Benmont Tench, Willie Watson and more. The special guests also had an impact on the song selection.

“A lot of the strategy was marrying the songs to the guests that we wanted to be part of the record,” Sara said. “So we knew, for example, that Willie Watson was somebody who we wanted to have on the record because we have such a long history with him specifically. So we did the Jim and Jesse song ‘She Left Me Standing on the Mountain’ with Gabe Witcher and Willie, who are both part of the foundation of the Family Hour.”

The Watkins also tapped Dawes drummer Griffin Goldsmith and bassist Sebastian Steinberg (Fiona Apple, Blake Mills) to record Vol. II lead single “Hypnotized.” The rhythm section “brought such a deep and mysterious feel to it,” Sara and Sean said, who also spoke about their history with the Tune-Yards number.

“While on tour for our previous record, we heard this Tune-Yards song on the radio and then proceeded to listen to it just about every day after that while driving to the next town,” the duo recalled. “Their version is so beautifully intricate and wild. We knew it would be a challenge, but it became apparent we needed to learn the dang thing ourselves and record it.”

Listen to Watkins Family Hour on “Hypnotized” below:

Loading band summary

Vol. II Tracklist:

  1. The Way I Feel Inside (Ft. Lucius)
  2. Hypnotized
  3. Pitseleh (Feat. Madison Cunningham)
  4. Thanks a Lot (Ft. Jon Brion)
  5. The Late Show (Ft. Jackson Browne)
  6. Tennessee Waltz (Ft. Benmont Tench)
  7. She Left Me Standing on the Mountain (Ft. Willie Watson)
  8. We Were Meant to Be Together
  9. On the Outside (Ft. Gaby Moreno)
  10. (Remember Me) I’m the One Who Loves You (Ft. Fiona Apple)
  11. Grief and Praise (Ft. Madison Cunningham)
JamBase Collections