The War On Drugs Announce New Album ‘I Don’t Live Here Anymore’ & 2022 Tour

The band previewed their first new studio album in four years with lead single "Living Proof" and an accompanying video.

By Scott Bernstein Jul 19, 2021 7:28 am PDT

Philadelphia’s The War On Drugs will release a new studio album entitled I Don’t Live Here Anymore through Atlantic Records on October 29. The band will support the LP, which features lead single “Living Proof,” with a 2022 North American and European tour.

The 10-track LP marks the group’s first new studio album in four years. Work on the follow-up to 2017’s A Deeper Understanding started when bandleader Adam Granduciel, bassist Dave Hartley and multi-instrumentalist Anthony LaMarca assembled in upstate New York in 2018 for jam sessions and to prep demos. I Don’t Live Here Anymore then came together over the course more than a dozen sessions held over the course of three years at seven studios including Sound City in Los Angeles and New York City’s Electric Lady with producer/engineer Shawn Everett.

Particularly fruitful sessions were held at Electro-Vox in May 2019, when Graduciel, Hartley and LaMarca teamed with the rest of the band’s lineup — saxophonist Jon Natchez, keyboardist Robbie Bennett and drummer Charlie Hall — to record “Living Proof.” While Granduciel generally puts together The War On Drugs tracks from a number of overdubs, “Living Proof” was assembled “in real time.”

The War On Drugs kick off their 2022 tour with two nights at Austin’s ACL Live January 19 – 20. Adam Granduciel and his mates then bring the run to Dallas, Houston, Nashville, Atlanta, Philadelphia, New York City, Boston, Washington D.C., Columbus, Toronto, Detroit, Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul, Denver, Salt Lake City, Seattle, Portland (Oregon) and San Francisco before ending the North American portion of the tour at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on February 26. The band heads to Europe for a run spanning March 22 – April 23, 2022. Tickets go on sale this Friday, July 23 at 10 a.m. local time.

Filmmaker Emmett Malloy directed the visual for The War On Drugs’ new single. Watch the “Living Proof” video below:

I Don’t Live Here Anymore Tracklist

  1. Living Proof
  2. Harmonia’s Dream
  3. Change
  4. I Don’t Wanna Wait
  5. Victim
  6. I Don’t Live Here Anymore
  7. Old Skin
  8. Wasted
  9. Rings Around My Father’s Eyes
  10. Occasional Rain
JamBase Collections