The War On Drugs Share New Single ‘Pain’


Three weeks from today, on August 25, The War On Drugs will release their latest studio album, A Deeper Understanding, via Atlantic Records. Adam Granduciel & Co. have just released the LP’s latest single, “Pain.”

Granduciel, along with the band of bassist Dave Hartley, keyboardist Robbie Bennett, drummer Charlie Hall and multi-instrumentalists Anthony LaMarca and Jon Natchez recorded “Pain” on their first night working with engineer Shawn Everett at Sonora Recorders in Los Angeles. The nearly-live recording experience was a new one for the sextet.

“Pain” is one of 10 tracks that will be featured on A Deeper Understanding. The War On Drugs had previously shared “Thinking Of A Place,” “Holding On” and “Strangest Thing.”

The Philadelphia-based band kicks off an extensive tour in Portland, Maine on September 18.

Listen to the new The War On Drugs single, “Pain”:

Watch the video for previously released “Strangest Thing”:

A Deeper Understanding Tracklist

  1. Up All Night
  2. Pain
  3. Holding On
  4. Strangest Thing
  5. Knocked Down
  6. Nothing To Find
  7. Thinking of a Place
  8. In Chains
  9. Clean Living
  10. You Don’t Have To Go

Tour Dates for
The War On Drugs

We don’t currently have any upcoming shows for The War On Drugs.

Pro Tip: Click “Add to My Bands” above and we’ll notify you when The War On Drugs announces shows in your area.