Unknown Mortal Orchestra Announces New Album ‘Sex & Food’ & Shares Single


Unknown Mortal Orchestra will release a new album entitled Sex & Food via Jagjaguwar on April 6. The Portland, Oregon-based band shared the lead single “American Guilt.”

The follow-up to 2015’s Multi-Love was recorded in various locations around the world, including frontman Ruban Nielsen’s basement studio in Portland and his native New Zealand, as well as South Korea, Vietnam and Iceland. Nielsen and his UMO bandmates Jacob Portrait and Kody Nielson initiated work on the 12-track Sex & Food at the start of 2016.

Here’s Nielson describing “American Guilt”:

“American Guilt” is an attempt to capture some of the feelings floating around these days. In a perverse way I wanted to embrace this abandoned genre of rock music that I keep reading is “dead” and invite people to hear what this living dead genre sounds like in the UMO universe. It was recorded in Hanoi, Vietnam during monsoon season in a studio built for traditional Vietnamese music. Additional recording was done in Mexico City but our sessions were interrupted by one of the devastating earthquakes that occurred there last year. As we slept in the Parque de Mexico, unable to get back to our AirBnB, we heard a man yell “Viva la Mexico!” and I put this in the song out of respect for them.

Pre-order the new record via this link. Directed and animated by Greg Sharp, check out the “American Guilt” video here:

Sex & Food Tracklist

  1. A God Called Hubris
  2. Major League Chemicals
  3. Ministry of Alienation
  4. Hunnybee
  5. Chronos Feasts on His Children
  6. American Guilt
  7. The Internet of Love (That Way)
  8. Everyone Acts Crazy Nowadays
  9. This Doomsday
  10. How Many Zeros
  11. Not in Love We’re Just High
  12. If You’re Going to Break Yourself

Tour Dates for
Unknown Mortal Orchestra

  • Nov
  • Nov
  • Nov
  • Nov
  • Nov