Umphrey’s McGee & Jason Bonham Play Led Zeppelin Set At Red Rocks


Umphrey’s McGee teamed with drummer Jason Bonham to deliver a special set of Led Zeppelin covers during Sunday’s concert at Red Rocks. The middle of three sets played by UM saw the guest drummer and Bonham’s frequent collaborator, vocalist James Dylan, join the band on bust outs and debuts, with guitarist Eric Krasno coming on for one of the songs in the tribute set.

Sunday’s concert was the third a final night of UM’s 2019 Red Rocks run. The action began with Umphrey’s laying out a first set constructed of “Bridgeless” > “Bad Friday,” “Anchor Drops > “It Doesn’t Matter” (the latter featuring AC/DC’s “Back In Black” teases), “Slacker” and “Blue Echo” > “The Floor.”

Umphrey’s and the son of late Led Zeppelin drummer John Bonham had previously performed together at last year’s Lockn’. Bonham and Dylan, who perform together in Jason Bonham’s Led Zeppelin Evening, were onstage for the start of the second set, which began with the intro to “In The Light” and a transition into “Immigrant Song.” The first UM cover of Led Zeppelin’s “Ramble On” came next, which was followed by “How Many More Times.”

Dylan exited ahead of “Ten Years Gone” and guitarist Brendan Bayliss went acoustic for bust outs of “Hey, Hey What Can I Do,” which was last covered in 2015, and “Bron-Y-Aur Stomp,” which had last been played 930 shows prior in 2010. Dylan came back and Bayliss went electric for the first UM performance of “No Quarter” since 2005, a span of 1,467 shows. The UM debut of Led Zeppelin’s “What Is and What Should Never Be” came before the emergence of Krasno, who’s extra guitar was added to “Whole Lotta Love.” Bonham, Dylan and Umphrey’s McGee then finished off the set with “Kashmir.”

“Dump City” launched the third UM set. “Preamble” > “Mantis” with an “It’s About That Time” jam, and “Front Porch” with its common “Waterfalls” interlude were then offered. A pairing of “August” and “Bridgeless” — the latter working in elements of “Immigrant Song” — wrapped up set three. Bonham was back onstage for the encore, sitting-in on UM’s “Conduit” and, with Dylan’s assistance, on one final Zep tune, “The Song Remains The Same.” View videos shared by UM from Sunday at Red Rocks below:

Bridgeless > Bad Friday

No Quarter, What Is and What Should Never Be, Whole Lotta Love, Kashmir

Dump City

Setlist (via All Things Umphrey’s)

Set One: Bridgeless > Bad Friday, Anchor Drops > It Doesn’t Matter[1], Slacker, Blue Echo > The Floor

Set 2: Immigrant Song[2], Ramble On[3], How Many More Times[2], Ten Years Gone[4], Hey, Hey What Can I Do[5], Bron-Y-Aur Stomp[5], No Quarter[2], What Is and What Should Never Be[3], Whole Lotta Love[6], Kashmir[2]

Set 3: Dump City, Preamble > Mantis[7], Front Porch[8], August > Bridgeless[9]

Encore: Conduit[4], The Song Remains the Same[2]


  • [1] with Back In Black (AC/DC) teases
  • [2] with Jason Bonham on drums and James Dylan on vocals
  • [3] debut, Led Zeppelin; with Jason Bonham on drums and James Dylan on vocals
  • [4] with Jason Bonham on drums
  • [5] with Jason Bonham on drums and Brendan on acoustic
  • [6] with Jason Bonham on drums, James Dylan on vocals, and Eric Krasno on guitar
  • [7] with It’s About That Time (Mile Davis) jam; unfinished
  • [8] with Waterfalls (TLC) quotes
  • [9] with Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin) teases
  • In the Light intro before Immigrant Song
  • last Hey, Hey What Can I Do 06.28.2015 (364 shows)
  • last Bron-Y-Aur Stomp 04.24.2010 (930 shows)
  • last No Quarter 11.15.2005 (1,467 shows)

Tour Dates for
Umphrey’s McGee

Tour Dates for
Jason Bonham