Trey Anastasio Band Announces New Live Album ‘Burn It Down’


This Friday, September 18, Phish guitarist Trey Anastasio will release Burn It Down, a new live album featuring the Trey Anastasio Band. Burn It Down, which was produced and mixed by Vance Powell, contains highlights from TAB’s January 2020 tour.

The 15-track collection was finished in April. However, Trey decided to focus on his more timely quarantine album, Lonely Trip, before releasing Burn It Down. The new TAB live album will premiere on SiriusXM’s Phish Radio tomorrow, Thursday, September 17 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.


Read a statement from Trey regarding Burn It Down below:

Over the past few years there’s been an indescribable momentum with TAB. The band seems to get tighter with each successive tour. This past January, we were firing on all cylinders, and it was reflected in the faces of the people coming to the shows. I could feel it and see it every single night — the intensity of the dancing, the smiles on people’s faces, the feeling of unity.

So immediately after that tour, I put plans in motion to begin a TAB album in the spring. The pandemic changed those plans, and when everything was cancelled, I began working at home on what would later become Lonely Trip.

Meanwhile, my friend Vance Powell, who produced this new TAB album, called and told me there was already enough great material on tape from the January tour to make the best TAB album ever, and make it a live album. So he started sending me mixes. I loved them. We both agreed that Burn It Down, a line from the song ‘Set Your Soul Free,’ was the perfect title, because it encapsulated exactly what had been happening onstage every night.

When I listen to this album, it reminds me how much I miss playing live music. In some ways, it’s hard for me to listen for that reason. I can’t wait to experience this again. I miss it so much.

“Producing and mixing Burn It Down has been absolutely one of my favorite projects ever,” added Powell. “The band is slamming!” Anastasio will perform as part of tomorrow night’s benefit livestream concert supporting the City Parks Foundation. The livestream begins at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT ahead of the premiere of Burn It Down on Phish Radio.


Burn It Down Tracklist

  1. Camel Walk
  2. Sand
  3. Set Your Soul Free
  4. About To Run
  5. Olivia
  6. Rise Come Together
  7. Dark And Down
  8. Undermind
  9. Alive Again
  10. Ether Sunday
  11. Plasma
  12. Love Is What We Are
  13. Mozambique
  14. Simple Twist Up Dave
  15. First Tube
More Trey Anastasio on JamBase
  • Trey Anastasio, Sting, Norah Jones & More Aboard For City Parks Foundation Benefit Livestream

    Trey Anastasio, Sting, Norah Jones & More Aboard For City Parks Foundation Benefit Livestream 

  • Trey Anastasio Announces New Album 'Lonely Trip'

    Trey Anastasio Announces New Album 'Lonely Trip' 

  • Trey Anastasio Shares Toots Hibbert Remembrance

    Trey Anastasio Shares Toots Hibbert Remembrance 

JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive