Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers 1995 Dogs With Wings Tour Stop In Chicago


Tom Petty recently revealed a desire to tour behind an expanded edition of his well-received 1994 album Wildflowers. In 1995, Petty and The Heartbreakers (most of whom appeared on the LP credited just to Petty) set out on the Dogs With Wings Tour in support of the record and one of the early shows from the tour is the subject of this week’s Throwback Thursday installment.

Named after a lyric in the album track “It’s Good To Be King” the tour included Petty on guitar alongside Mike Campbell and Scott Thurston, Benmont Tench on keyboards, Steve Ferrone on drums and the late Howie Epstein on bass. The show featured below, from the at-the-time newly built United Center in Chicago on March 8, 1995 features Wildflowers songs including the hit single “You Don’t Know How It Feels,” “You Wreck Me,” Don’t Fade On Me,” “Wildflowers and “It’s Good To Be King” during which a large gold-painted winged dog was flown over the audience.

The performance also includes the Wildflowers outtake “Girl On LSD” that was a B-side to “You Don’t Know How It Feels” and will likely be included in the aforementioned extended edition of the album Petty discussed. There are also such Petty classics as “I Won’t’ Back Down,” “Mary Jane’s Last Dance,” “Learning To Fly,” “Running Down A Dream” and “American Girl,” among a few others. Watch the full show (minus part of the encore) thanks to Sigmund Bops below:


Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers at United Center

  • Love Is a Long Road  
  • You Don't Know How It Feels  
  • Listen to Her Heart
  • I Won't Back Down  
  • Free Fallin'  
  • You Wreck Me  
  • Diamond Head  
  • Mary Jane's Last Dance
  • Into the Great Wide Open
  • Learning to Fly
  • Don't Fade on Me  
  • Girl on LSD  
  • I Just Want to Make Love to You  
  • Wildflowers  
  • Yer So Bad  
  • It's Good to Be King  
  • Breakdown
  • Drivin' Down to Georgia
  • Refugee
  • Runnin' Down a Dream  
  • Honey Bee  
  • American Girl
  • Alright for Now