Tinsley Ellis Confirms 1st Solo Acoustic Album & Shares Col. Bruce Hampton-Inspired Single

Listen to the renowned blues guitarist’s “Devil In The Room.”

By Nate Todd Nov 27, 2023 2:43 pm PST

Renowned blues guitarist and singer-songwriter Tinsley Ellis announced his first solo acoustic album, Naked Truth, due out on February 9, 2024 via Alligator Records. The Atlanta-based musician also shared the lead single, “Devil In The Room,” inspired by a Col. Bruce Hampton “call to arms.”

Tinsley Ellis captured his 21st album Naked Truth — boasting nine newly written originals and three covers — live in studio using just two guitars, his beloved 1969 Martin D-35 (a gift from his father) and his 1937 National Steel O Series. Tinsley handled production duties on the record save for a cover of Son House’s “Death Letter Blues” produced by Atlanta roots musician Eddie 9V.

“This is a record I’ve always wanted to make, and one that my longtime fans have been asking for,” Ellis stated and also noted he’s included an acoustic mini-set in his concert performances for years. Tinsley also spoke about Naked Truth’s first single and opening track, “Devil In The Room.”

“‘Devil In The Room’ is musically a nod to the Hill Country Blues style of Mississippi Fred McDowell and R. L. Burnside. Lyrically it’s based on something Col. Bruce Hampton used to tell us before we went on stage to back him up. He would tell us to ‘put the devil in the room!’ His call to arms has stuck with me for 40 years! On ‘Devil In The Room’ I’m playing in open G tuning on my 1937 National O-Series steel resonator guitar with a brass slide.”

Listen to “Devil In The Room” below:

Loading tour dates

Naked Truth Tracklist:

  1. Devil In The Room
  2. Windowpane
  3. Death Letter Blues
  4. Silver Mountain
  5. Don’t Go No Further
  6. The Sailor’s Grave On The Prairie
  7. Tallahassee Blues
  8. Hoochie Mama
  9. Alcovy Breakdown
  10. Horseshoes And Hand Grenades
  11. Grown Ass Man
  12. Easter Song
JamBase Collections