The Killers’ Brandon Flowers Leads Detroit Audience In Singing Motown Classic ‘My Girl’

Watch frontman Brandon Flowers get the Detroit audience involved on an acoustic rendition of the Motown favorite.

By Nate Todd Oct 10, 2022 12:05 pm PDT

The Killers stopped by Detroit’s Little Caesars Arena on Saturday. Frontman Brandon Flowers and company delivered an apt cover debut of The Temptations-recorded Motown classic “My Girl.”

The Killers kicked things off with “My Soul’s Own Warning” off the 2020 album, Imploding The Mirage, which the band is touring in support of as the pandemic pause delayed the excursion. The group would also perform Imploding The Mirage’s “Fire In Bone,” “Dying Breed,” (which had to be restarted as Flowers handled a fight that broke out) and “Caution.”

The rockers also roughly dipped evenly from their 2004 debut album Hot Fuss including “Jenny Was A Friend Of Mine,” “Smile Like You Mean It,” “Somebody Told Me” and more along with their 2006 sophomore studio effort Sam’s Town with “Enterlude, “When We Were Young” and “For Reasons Unknown,” the latter of which saw the band bringing up a fan named Scotty Rock to play drums.

Following “For Reasons Unknown,” The Killers continued with “A Dustland Fairly Tale” from 2008’s Day & Age before unveiling The Temptations’ Motown classic “My Girl.” Penned by Motown legend Smokey Robinson, the equally legendary Temptations included the song on their 1965 album, The Temptations Sing Smokey. The Killers’ Brandon Flowers sang the song with acoustic guitar accompaniment from touring member Ted Sablay as well as the audience joining for the sing-along song.

After closing their main set with “All These Things That I’ve Done,” the band returned for a four-song encore beginning with Day & Age’s “Spaceman.” Flowers then fielded an audience request for “Miss Atomic Bomb” before bringing out former Smiths guitarist and opener Johnny Marr. Marr and The Killers collaborated on The Smiths’ “This Charming Man” before Johnny helped the band close the evening with the Hot Fuss favorite “Mr. Brightside.”

Watch Brandon Flowers helm The Killers’ debut of “My Girl” below:

Cory Copeland
The Killers (See 13 videos)

Loading tour dates


The Killers at Little Caesars Arena

  • My Own Soul's Warning
  • Enterlude
  • When You Were Young
  • Jenny Was a Friend of Mine
  • Smile Like You Mean It
  • Shot at the Night
  • Cody
  • Human
  • Somebody Told Me
  • Fire in Bone
  • boy
  • For Reasons Unknown  
  • A Dustland Fairytale
  • My Girl  
  • Runaways
  • Read My Mind
  • Dying Breed  
  • Caution  
  • All These Things That I've Done
  • Spaceman
  • Miss Atomic Bomb  
  • This Charming Man  
  • Mr. Brightside  
JamBase Collections