The Black Keys Detail ‘El Camino’ 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

The super deluxe edition of 'El Camino' contains the remastered album, a live show from Maine and more.

By Nate Todd Sep 16, 2021 3:17 pm PDT

The Black Keys announced the release of 10th anniversary deluxe editions of their landmark 2011 album, El Camino. The collection arrives on November 5 via Nonesuch Records in five LP, four CD super deluxe format as well as a three LP edition.

The Black Keys — guitarist/vocalist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney — co-produced El Camino in Nashville in Spring 2011 with renowned producer Danger Mouse. In his newly written liner notes for the 10th anniversary edition of El Camino, famed rock writer David Fricke framed the time leading up to the milestone record.

The story of the Black Keys’ seventh album, named after an automobile, long out of fashion and featured nowhere in the artwork, begins on a sidewalk in the middle of a blizzard. On the afternoon of January 9, 2011, singer-guitarist Dan Auerbach and drummer Patrick Carney stood on the pavement outside the Bowery Hotel in New York City, saw the weather turning vicious, looked at each other and came to the same decision: They had to get off the road.

The night before, the duo scored another first in a season getting crowded with them: The Black Keys’ debut appearance on Saturday Night Live, performing “Howlin’ for You” and “Tighten Up,” the breakout singles from their latest release, Brothers. Two days earlier, Brothers—the Keys’ first Top Five album, released in May, 2010—became their first gold record, passing a half-million in sales thanks to heavy FM rotation and a near-year of gigging, now set to run deep into 2011 including a prestige slot at Coachella and victory laps in Europe and Australia.

The Keys “tried to settle down” after canceling the tour, Carney says. But that didn’t last. “I said, ‘We should just make another record.’ And I asked Dan if we should get Danger Mouse”—the hip-hop and modern-rock producer, real name Brian Burton, who worked on the Keys’ 2008 record, Attack and Release, and co-produced “Tighten Up.” Auerbach and Carney did not have any new songs, but as the drummer notes, “Most of our records—we don’t have material when we start. Brothers was made up in the studio.”

While the band was already on the rise with Brothers, El Camino — arriving on December 6, 2011 — cemented the duo as one of rock’s most critically acclaimed and popular acts. The album and three of its singles, “Lonely Boy,” “Gold On The Ceiling” and “Little Black Submarines” all cracked the Top 5 of various charts.

The 10th anniversary super deluxe edition of El Camino boasts a remastered version of the original album, a previously unheard live recording of the era from Portland, Maine, a BBC Radio 1 Zane Lowe session from 2012, a 2011 Electro-Vox session, a photo book, a limited-edition poster and lithograph, and a “new car scent” air freshener. A three-LP edition includes the remastered album and Maine show. The Super Deluxe version will also be available digitally.

The Black Keys shared a trailer for the 10th anniversary edition that features original “Lonely Boy” video star Derrick T. Tuggle, who reprises his role. Watch it below:

El Camino 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edtion Tracklist:

Remastered El Camino Album
  1. Lonely Boy
  2. Dead and Gone
  3. Gold on the Ceiling
  4. Little Black Submarines
  5. Money Maker
  6. Run Right Back
  7. Sister
  8. Hell of a Season
  9. Stop Stop
  10. Nova Baby
  11. Mind Eraser
Live in Portland, ME
  1. Howlin’ for You
  2. Next Girl
  3. Run Right Back
  4. Same Old Thing
  5. Dead and Gone
  6. Gold on the Ceiling
  7. Thickfreakness
  8. Girl Is on my mind
  9. I’ll Be Your Man/ Your Touch
  10. Little Black Submarines
  11. Money Maker
  12. Strange Times
  13. Chop and Change
  14. Nova Baby
  15. Ten Cent Pistol
  16. Tighten Up
  17. Lonely Boy
  18. Everlasting Light
  19. She’s Long Gone
  20. I Got Mine
Zane Lowe BBC Session (Super Deluxe Edition only)
  1. Howlin’ for You
  2. Next Girl
  3. Gold on the Ceiling
  4. Thickfreakness
  5. I’ll Be Your Man
  6. Your Touch
  7. Little Black Submarines
  8. Dead and Gone
  9. Tighten Up
  10. Lonely Boy
  11. I Got Mine
Electro Vox Session (Super Deluxe Edition only)
  1. Dead and Gone
  2. Gold on the Ceiling
  3. Howlin’ For You
  4. Lonely Boy
  5. Money Maker
  6. Next Girl
  7. Run Right Back
  8. Sister
  9. Tighten Up
  10. Tour Dates for The Black Keys

JamBase Collections