The Band ‘Stage Fright’ 50th Anniversary Box Set Includes Previously Unreleased Live Album

By Scott Bernstein Dec 18, 2020 7:30 am PST

The Band’s 1970 album, Stage Fright, is getting the deluxe, remix, remastered and expanded treatment in honor of its 50th anniversary. Capitol/UMe will issue a suite of 50th Anniversary Edition packages including a slew of previously unreleased material on February 12, 2021.

Stage Fright was The Band’s third album and includes such beloved classics as “The Shape I’m In,” “The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show” and the title track. Guitarist Robbie Robertson oversaw all the 50th Anniversary Edition packages, which feature a new stereo mix by Bob Clearmountain from the original multi-track masters. Stage Fright is presented in the originally planned song order for the first time.

Digital, 2-CD, 180-gram black vinyl and limited edition 180-gram color vinyl packages are available. Additionally, a multi-format Super Deluxe box set features CDs, Blu-ray and vinyl accompanied by a photo booklet and extensive liner notes. The box set, CD and digital versions contain Live At Royal Albert Hall, June 1971, a previously unreleased live album, as well as alternate versions of “Strawberry Wine” and “Sleeping” and Calgary Hotel Recordings, 1970. Robertson, bassist Rick Danko and pianist Richard Manuel’s impromptu late night hotel jam session is featured on the latter.

“Doing new mixes on these songs with Bob Clearmountain has been a gift and special opportunity,” Robertson wrote in the new liner notes. “Glyn Johns and Todd [Rundgren] did a terrific job on the original mixes in England while The Band was on the Festival Express train tour across Canada with Janis Joplin and the Grateful Dead. We had always been part of the mixing process before, which left something on this album feeling a little unfinished. Clearmountain has taken this music and given it the sonic lift it deserves.

“The album has become a whole new listening experience with the original song order and the depth of these mixes,” added Robertson. “There may be some purists that prefer ‘the way it was,’ and of course that’s always readily available, I’m enjoying this new version, this story, this musical journey. It feels like a fulfillment and I know my brothers in The Band would definitely agree.”

Preview the set with the 2020 mix of “The Shape I’m In” below:

Stage Fright (50th Anniversary Edition) 2-CD/Digital Tracklist

CD1; Digital

  • 1. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show
  • 2. The Shape I’m In
  • 3. Daniel And The Sacred Harp
  • 4. Stage Fright
  • 5. The Rumor
  • 6. Time To Kill
  • 7. Just Another Whistle Stop
  • 8. All La Glory
  • 9. Strawberry Wine
  • 10. Sleeping

Bonus Tracks

  • 11. Strawberry Wine (Alternate Mix) *
  • 12. Sleeping (Alternate Mix) *

Calgary Hotel Room Recordings, 1970 *

  • 13. Get Up Jake (#1) *
  • 14. Get Up Jake (#2) *
  • 15. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show *
  • 16. Rockin’ Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu *
  • 17. Calgary Blues *
  • 18. Before You Accuse Me *
  • 19. Mojo Hannah *

* Previously unreleased

CD2; Digital – Live At Royal Albert Hall, June 1971 (Previously Unreleased)

  • 1. The Shape I’m In
  • 2. Time To Kill
  • 3. The Weight
  • 4. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
  • 5. Strawberry Wine
  • 6. Rockin’ Chair
  • 7. Look Out Cleveland
  • 8. I Shall Be Released
  • 9. Stage Fright
  • 10. Up On Cripple Creek
  • 11. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show
  • 12. We Can Talk
  • 13. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
  • 14. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
  • 15. Across the Great Divide
  • 16. The Unfaithful Servant
  • 17. Don’t Do It
  • 18. The Genetic Method
  • 19. Chest Fever
  • 20. Rag Mama Rag
JamBase Collections