Tedeschi Trucks Band Close Out Washington D.C. Run – Full Show Audio

By Jeffrey Greenblatt Feb 24, 2019 8:00 am PST

Tedeschi Trucks Band closed out a four-night run at the Warner Theatre in Washington D.C. on Saturday. The quartet of shows was split between two weekends with last night’s finale featuring the return of The Beatles’ “With A Little Help From My Friends” for the first time since last fall.

Vocalist Mike Mattison led the 12-piece act through Dr. John’s “I Walk On Guilded Splinters” to open up the night. From there, the rock and soul ensemble would focus most of their attention on material from their own catalog. The band showcased a handful of tracks from their recently released studio album Signs with takes on “When Will I Begin,” “Walk Through This Life” and “Strengthen What Remains.” The opening set was also highlighted by an expansive 17+ minute set-closing take on “Idle Wind.”

“They Don’t Shine” from their new LP was tapped to open up the second stanza. Two songs later the Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks fronted act would dig in on their recently revived take on the Allman Brothers Band classic “Dreams” stretching the tune out past the 14-minute mark. The back half of the set included standout takes on “Shame,” “Midnight In Harlem” and “Bound For Glory.” Tedeschi Trucks Band closed out their evening with a powerhouse version of Joe Cocker’s famous interpretation of The Beatles’ “With A Little Help From My Friends.” Keyboardist Gabe Dixon delivered a gorgeous intro while Tedeschi put everything she had in a cathartic and emotionally charged take on the Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band track, which had been sitting on the shelf since October of last year.

Listen to full show audio taped by Alex Leary and watch fan-shot video below:

I Walk On Guilded Splinters Captured by Tom Libera

Idle Wind Captured by Tom Libera

Dreams Captured by Tom Libera

With A Little Help From My Friends Captured by goatslop


Tedeschi Trucks Band at Warner Theatre

Set 1
  • I Walk on Guilded Splinters  
  • Do I Look Worried
  • Part of Me
  • When Will I Begin
  • Walk Through This Life
  • Down in the Flood  
  • Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever  
  • Strengthen What Remains
  • Idle Wind
Set 2
  • They Don't Shine
  • High & Mighty
  • Dreams  
  • Sweet Inspiration  
  • Made Up Mind
  • Shame
  • Midnight in Harlem
  • I Pity the Fool  
  • Bound for Glory
  • With a Little Help From My Friends
  • The Beatles
JamBase Collections