Tedeschi Trucks Band Announces ‘Layla Revisited (Live At LOCKN’)’ Live Album Featuring Trey Anastasio

By Andy Kahn May 7, 2021 6:09 am PDT

Tedeschi Trucks Band’s performance with guitarists Trey Anastasio of Phish and Doyle Bramhall II at the 2019 LOCKN’ festival of Derek & The Dominos’ iconic album Layla And Other Assorted Love Songs will soon be released. Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’) is set to arrive on Friday, July 16 via Fantasy Records.

The 3LP vinyl edition comes with a studio recording by Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks of “Thorn Tree In The Garden,” which was not played live at LOCKN’ (the original Derek and The Dominoes studio version was played over the PA following the set). The vinyl tracklist also includes a rehearsal recording of “I Am Yours” not included on the CD edition. The cover of Jimi Hendrix’s “Little Wing” performed by TTB and Trey came in second place in this year’s JamBase March Madness Covers Tournament.


During portions of the August 24, 2019 Layla set, Trucks played his 1957 Gibson Goldtop guitar that is one serial number away from the ’57 Goldtop played by the late Duane Allman, who joined Eric Clapton on the original 1970 triple-LP Layla And Other Assorted Love Songs. Trucks, who was named after Derek and The Dominoes, wrote the liner notes to Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’).

“By the time that I started playing guitar, the sound of Duane Allman’s slide was almost an obsession,” Derek Trucks said regarding Layla. “His playing on Layla is still one of the high-water marks for me. The spirit, the joy, the recklessness, and the inevitability of it. My dad would play that record for me and my brother to fall asleep to and further sear it into my DNA.”


Pre-order Layla Revisited (Live At LOCKN’) via this link. Watch “Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?” from Layla Revisited (Live At LOCKN’) below:

TedeschiTrucksVEVO (See 5 videos)
Tedeschi Trucks Band (See 298 videos) and Trey Anastasio (See 226 videos)

Layla Revisited (Live at LOCKN’) Vinyl Tracklist

Side A

  • 1. I Looked Away
  • 2. Bell Bottom Blues
  • 3. Keep On Growing

Side B

  • 4. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
  • 5. I Am Yours
  • 6. Anyday

Side C

  • 7. Key To The Highway
  • 8. Tell The Truth

Side D

  • 9. Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad?
  • 10. Have You Ever Loved A Woman

Side E

  • 11. Little Wing
  • 12. It’s Too Late
  • 13. Layla

Side F

  • 14. Thorn Tree In The Garden (studio)
  • 15. I Am Yours (rehearsal)

Loading tour dates

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections