Stream Jimi Hendrix Outtakes Collection ‘Both Sides Of The Sky’

By Andy Kahn Mar 1, 2018 8:49 am PST

A new collection of Jimi Hendrix outtakes Both Sides Of The Sky will be issued by Experience Hendrix and Legacy Recordings on March 9. NPR Music’s First Listen series has made the album available to stream in advance of its official release next week.

Featuring recordings made by Hendrix between January 1968 and February 1970, Both Sides Of The Sky offers a total of 13 tracks, 10 of which have never been released. Co-produced Eddie Kramer — who engineered every Hendrix album recorded prior to the guitarist’s death on September 18, 1970 — along with John McDermott and Janie Hendrix, Both Sides Of The Sky marks the third installment of posthumously issued, previously unreleased recordings made by Hendrix, following 2010’s Beginning With Valleys of Neptune and 2013’s People, Hell And Angels.

The Band of Gypsys, Hendrix along with bassist Billy Cox and drummer Buddy Miles, can be heard on several tracks, including a previously unreleased cover of Muddy Waters’ “Mannish Boy.” Bassist Noel Redding and drummer Mitch Mitchell of the original Jimi Hendrix Experience appear on previously unreleased recordings of “Stepping Stone,” “Jungle,” “Cherokee Mist” and “Sweet Angel.” Additional personnel on the new album includes Stephen Stills, Johnny Winter, Duane Hitchings, Dallas Taylor and Hendrix’s former Curtis Knight & The Squires band mate Lonnie Youngblood.

Stream Both Sides Of The Sky via the link to NPR below:


Both Sides Of The Sky Tracklist

  1. Mannish Boy*
  2. Lover Man*
  3. Hear My Train A Comin’*
  4. Stepping Stone*
  5. $20 Fine*+
  6. Power Of Soul^
  7. Jungle*
  8. Things I Used to Do#
  9. Georgia Blues++
  10. Sweet Angel*
  11. Woodstock*+
  12. Send My Love To Linda*
  13. Cherokee Mist*
  • *Previously unreleased
  • ^ Previously unavailable extended version
  • +Featuring Stephen Stills
  • #Featuring Johnny Winter
  • ++Featuring Lonnie Youngblood
JamBase Collections