Stephen Malkmus Announces New Album ‘Groove Denied’ & Shares Single

By Jeffrey Greenblatt Jan 22, 2019 9:52 am PST

Stephen Malkmus will release Groove Denied on March 15 via Matador Records. The 10-track effort is Malkmus’ first solo album since 2001 and marks his foray into the world of electronic music. Malkmus shared the video for the LP’s lead single “Viktor Borgia.”

The bulk of the material was written while Malkmus was living in Berlin in the early 2000s and inspired by the techno music of the city’s club scene. A nine-date solo tour was announced in support of the record that kicks off on May 1 at The Great Hall in Toronto. The East Coast leg of the tour features shows in Somerville, Massachusetts; Ardmore, Pennsylvania and Washington, D.C. The tour then heads west to Austin, Portland, Seattle and San Francisco before wrapping on May 15 at the Lodge Room in Los Angeles.

“It’s kind of funny to mess with stuff you’re not supposed to mess with,” Malkmus stated. “Yes, I was thinking things like Pete Shelley’s ‘Homosapien,’ the Human League, and DIY synth music circa 1982 and also about how in the New Wave eighties, these suburban 18-and-over dance clubs were where all the freaks would meet – a sanctuary.”

Watch the video for “Viktor Borgia” below:

Groove Denied Tracklist

  1. Belziger Faceplant
  2. A Bit Wilder
  3. Viktor Borgia
  4. Come Get Me
  5. Forget Your Place
  6. Rushing The Acid Frat
  7. Love The Door
  8. Bossviscerate
  9. Ocean of Revenge
  10. Grown Nothing
JamBase Collections