Southern Avenue Details New Album ‘Be The Love You Want’ & Shares Single

Memphis soul quintet Southern Avenue will release a new album, Be The Love You Want, on August 27 through Renew Records/BMG. The band accompanied the announcement with lead single, “Push Now.”

The follow-up to 2019’s Keep On sees Southern Avenue — vocalist Tierinii Jackson, drummer Tikyra Jackson, bassist Evan Sarver, guitarist Ori Naftaly and keyboardist Jeremy Powell — enlisting Grammy-winning producer Steve Berlin (Los Lobos, Deer Tick, Susan Tedeschi, Jackie Greene) to helm the album along with Southern Avenue’s Ori Naftaly handling co-producing duties. The record also sees Southern Avenue teaming up with singer-songwriter Jason Mraz and Platinum producer Michael Goldwasser from Easy Star All-Stars on the tune “Move Into The Light.”

While the 12-track Be The Love You Want was predominantly co-written by Ori Naftaly and Tierinii Jackson, the rhythm section of Evan Sarver and Tikyra Jackson co-wrote “Let’s Get It Together” and “Pressure.” Additionally, North Mississippi Allstars’ Cody Dickinson collaborated on “Heathen Hearts” and also wrote with Tierinii Jackson and Ori Naftaly on the lead single “Push Now.”

We’re so excited to kick off the summer with ‘Push Now,'” said Tierinii Jackson. “It’s for every wild heart out there willing to fight to create their own opportunities, instead of riding the wave of life’s circumstances. We hope this song gets you hyped, and ready to take on everything the universe throws at you!

Preview Southern Avenue’s Be The Love You Want with “Push Now” below:

Be The Love You Want Tracklist:

  1. Be The Love You Want
  2. Control
  3. Don’t Hesitate (Call Me)
  4. Push Now
  5. Fences
  6. Let’s Get It Together
  7. Heathen Hearts
  8. Move Into The Light
  9. Love You Nice And Slow
  10. Pressure
  11. Too Good To Be True
  12. Move On