Scott Metzger Announces Solo Album ‘Too Close To Reason’ & Shares Single

Watch the video for “Don’t Be A Stranger,” the lead single from the guitarist’s debut solo album.

By Scott Bernstein Jan 4, 2022 7:31 am PST

Guitarist Scott Metzger will release Too Close To Reason, his debut solo album, via Royal Potato Family on March 4. Metzger previewed the 12-track LP by issuing its lead single, “Don’t Be A Stranger,” and an accompanying video.

Scott Metzger will hit the road this spring in support of Too Close To Reason. The Joe Russo’s Almost Dead guitarist will perform at Club Passim in Cambridge, Massachusetts on March 30. Metzger then heads to New York City on March 31, Washington D.C. on April 1 and Philadelphia on April 2. Tickets for each of the four shows go on sale this Friday, January 7. More dates will be announced soon.

Too Close To Reason features 12 instrumental acoustic guitar recordings made by Scott Metzger at Brooklyn’s Restoration Sound facility while off the road due to the pandemic. Metzger went at it alone for the LP except on the track “Only Child,” a ballad on which he’s joined by his fiancée, violinist Katie Jacoby.

“The through line of Too Close To Reason is found in Scott Metzger’s ability to manage conflicting tensions,” noted a press release heralding the new album. “He’s introspective without being self-indulgent and welcoming without being a crowd-pleaser. In short, his debut reveals an artist in full bloom who has honed his craft and knows himself, contradictions and all. With Too Close To Reason, Metzger has created the musical equivalent of a mirror, and he invites us to peer into that reflection by listening deeply.”

The video for Scott Metzger’s “Don’t Be A Stranger” was filmed at Restoration Sound by Daniel Jaffe and Marina King. Check out the finished product below:

Too Close To Reason Tracklist

  1. Appropriate Wattage
  2. Don’t Be a Stranger
  3. Asking for a Friend
  4. Talk Like That
  5. Damage
  6. Dream Room (Part One)
  7. Dream Room (Part Two)
  8. Waltz for Beverly
  9. When Katie Smiles
  10. Cafe Hidalgo
  11. Only Child
  12. At Your Service

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections