Roosevelt Collier Details Debut Solo Album ‘Exit 16’ & Shares Single Featuring Michael League


Pedal and lap steel guitarist Roosevelt Collier has shared details of his debut solo album, Exit 16. The first solo LP issued by the sacred steel specialist will be issued by GroundUP Music on March 9.

GroundUp was founded by Snarky Puppy’s Michael League, who produced the seven-track Exit 16 and is a member of Bokanté alongside Collier. League contributed bass, while JT Thomas provided the drum parts and Bobby Sparks played organ during the three days spent holding sessions for the album.

“This record is a record about me,” said Collier in a statement. “It’s telling a story of who I am, where I’m from, and where I’m going … My mission is touch and heal people through music. That’s always been my mission, whether it’s in the church or in a club. I think people feel better about themselves after I play. That’s powerful, my man! I’ve been blessed to have that going for me. That’s my gift.”

Last year, Collier teamed with The Infamous Stringdusters’ dobro player Andy Hall for the collaborative studio album of covers and originals, Let The Steel Play. Premiered by Live For Live Music, watch a video for the Exit 16 title track below:

Exit 16 Tracklist

  1. Sun Up Sun Down
  2. Happy Feet
  3. Make It Alright
  4. Exit 16
  5. That Could’ve Been Bad
  6. Supernatural Encounters
  7. Spike

Tour Dates for
Roosevelt Collier