The Rolling Stones Confirm Guests Appearing On New Album

Paul McCartney, Lady Gaga, Elton John, Bill Wyman and Stevie Wonder contributed to Hackney Diamonds.

By Scott Bernstein Sep 14, 2023 7:56 am PDT

The Rolling Stones officially announced Paul McCartney, Stevie Wonder, Lady Gaga and Elton John each contributed to their forthcoming Hackney Diamonds album. Late drummer Charlie Watts and former bassist Bill Wyman also appear on the iconic band’s first record of new material since 2005’s A Bigger Bang.

Produced by Andrew Watt, Hackney Diamonds is due out via Geffen on October 20. The Rolling Stones’ 24th studio album was recorded during sessions held in Los Angeles, London, Nassau (Bahamas) and New York City.

Hackney Diamonds includes two songs featuring Charlie Watts. The band’s co-founding drummer tracked his parts for “Mess It Up” and “Live By The Sword” in 2019, two years before he died at age 80. Wyman, who left The Rolling Stones in 1993, added bass to “Live By The Sword.” Current drummer Steve Jordan was behind the kit for the rest of the LP.

“Sweet Sounds Of Heaven,” the album’s penultimate track, features both vocals from Lady Gaga and Stevie Wonder on keyboards. Additionally, Paul McCartney plays bass on “Bite My Head Off,” while “Get Close” and “Live By The Sword” includes Elton John on piano.

The Rolling Stones recently previewed Hackney Diamonds with lead single and opening track “Angry.” Watch the official video starring actress Sydney Sweeney:

Loading tour dates

Hackney Diamonds Tracklist

  1. Angry
  2. Get Close
  3. Depending On You
  4. Bite My Head Off
  5. Whole Wide World
  6. Dreamy Skies
  7. Mess It Up
  8. Live By The Sword
  9. Driving Me Too Hard
  10. Tell Me Straight
  11. Sweet Sounds Of Heaven
  12. Rolling Stone Blues
JamBase Collections