Roger Waters Shares New Single ‘Smell The Roses’


Roger Waters will issue a new solo album Is This The Life We Really Want? on June 2 via Columbia Records. The co-founding member of Pink Floyd has shared the track “Smell The Roses” as the first single from the new record.

Nigel Godrich produced the long-awaited follow-up to 1992’s Amused To Death featuring 12 new original songs. A press release described Is This The Life We Really Want? as “unflinching commentary on the modern world and uncertain times,” that serves, “as a natural successor to classic Pink Floyd albums such as Animals and The Wall.”

Waters contributed vocal, bass and acoustic guitar, while Godrich was credited with arrangement, sound collages, keyboards and guitar. Additional musicians recruited for the recordings sessions include Jonathan Wilson on guitar and keyboards, Gus Seyffert on bass, guitar and keyboards, Joey Waronker on drums, Roger Manning and Lee Pardini on keyboards and Lucius vocalists Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig.

Stream the single “Smell The Roses” below:

Is This The Life We Really Want? Tracklist

  1. When We Were Young
  2. Déjà Vu
  3. The Last Refugee
  4. Picture That
  5. Broken Bones
  6. Is This the Life We Really Want?
  7. Bird in a Gale
  8. The Most Beautiful Girl
  9. Smell the Roses
  10. Wait for Her
  11. Oceans Apart
  12. Part of Me Died
  • Upcoming Shows

Related Bands

Related Articles

Featured Articles

More articles