moe.’s Rob Derhak Releases Solo Album ‘Songs For Other People’

Listen to a collection of songs written and recorded during the pandemic while moe. was off the road.

By Scott Bernstein Jan 4, 2022 9:59 am PST

moe. bassist Rob Derhak unveiled a new solo album entitled Songs For Other People today on Bandcamp. Derhak wrote and recorded all eight tracks on the LP during the pandemic while touring was paused.

Songs For Other People includes compositions commissioned by fans. Rob provided all vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards and drum programming. The one exception came on “Beautiful Mess,” which features backing vocals from his daughter, Emma Derhak.

Rob Derhak shared the following about Songs For Other People:

This album is a collection of songs that I wrote and recorded during moe.’s time off the road during the pandemic. It was an experiment in song writing for me. They were commissioned pieces, in which fans provided the initial catalyst, and subject matter. I put some of the proceeds in my pocket, and the rest into a fund that was set up for our road crew. I learned a ton doing this, and found out that I enjoyed writing in a “Tin Pan Alley” style. I also found that writing and recording everything by myself is an insane amount of work, and in the the end, because I’m a perfectionist, I found that I probably made about 5 or 6 bucks an hour. I found that the feeling I got from writing and recording in my little studio space was beyond satisfaction. I seriously hope you appreciate the album, as much as I do. It is a departure from the music I write for moe. and is not a collection of jams or serious instrumental pieces. These are all fairly simple songs that are written from the heart, for other folks. They’re a combo of mine, and their experiences, and processed through my weird brain. Enjoy.

Stream Songs For Other People below:

Songs For Other People Tracklist

  1. Robert – Bagel Line
  2. Ups And Downs
  3. Beautiful Mess
  4. moe.hoes
  5. Big Smooth
  6. Carry Me Kerry
  7. Slipping By The Shoals
  8. Piper’s Song

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections