Release Day Picks: January 12th New Album Highlights

By Team JamBase Jan 12, 2018 6:10 am PST

Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Umphrey’s McGee, Anderson East, The Humidors and Trevor Turville. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Umphrey’s McGee – it’s not us

The Scoop: Umphrey’s McGee’s 11th studio album, it’s not us, follows last year’s mash-up release ZONKEY and their 2015 release The London Session. The new studio effort was tracked at Chicago’s IV Lab Studios with some overdubs laid down at guitarist Jake Cinninger’s Boondock Studio and other facilities. Some of the songs on it’s not us have been part of UM’s live repertoire for years, like “Forks,” “Speak Up” and “Piranhas,” while others are new to their catalog. Among the new tunes are the singles “The Silent Type” and “Half Delayed,” both of which made their live debuts during the band’s recent New Year’s Run in Denver. Cinninger and Brendan Bayliss showed off “You & You Alone” at their recent Holiday Show, but “Looks,” “Whistle Kids,” “Maybe Someday” and “Dark Brush” have yet to hit the UM live stage. Watch the music video for the record’s lead single “The Silent Type”:

Label: Nothing Too Fancy Music

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 52:53

Guest Musicians: Joshua Redman


  1. The Silent Type
  2. Looks
  3. Whistle Kids
  4. Half Delayed
  5. Maybe Someday
  6. Remind Me
  7. You & You Alone
  8. Forks
  9. Speak Up (feat. Joshua Redman)
  10. Piranhas
  11. Dark Brush

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Anderson East – Encore

The Scoop: If you’re looking for artist to have a breakout year in 2018 look no further than Anderson East. The 29-year-old blue-eyed soul singer’s sophomore major label release Encore is destined for the kind of crossover appeal that propelled both Hozier and Leon Bridges into the mainstream. East has once again teamed with IT Nashville producer Dave Cobb for a collection of originals and cover tunes that features songwriting credits from the likes of Chris Stapleton, Ed Sheeran and Willie Nelson. The 11-track effort is a master class in soul music jumping from Motown to Stax to the genre’s modern sounds while channeling the production of Muscle Shoals and fusing it with Van Morrison and Otis Redding. Check out the music video for “All On My Mind”:

Label: Low Country Sound/Elektra

Producer: Dave Cobb

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 41:00


  1. King For A Day
  2. This Too Shall Last
  3. House Is A Building
  4. Sorry You’re Sick
  5. If You Keep Leaving Me
  6. Girlfriend
  7. Surrender
  8. All On My Mind
  9. Without You
  10. Somebody Pick Up My Pieces
  11. Cabinet Door

Stream / Download / CD/LP

The Humidors – Movin’ The Needle

The Scoop: Eight-piece funk act The Humidors recently unveiled Movin’ The Needle, a new studio album that shows off the group’s multi-dimensional sound. Influences from the likes of The Dap-Kings, Santana and Orgone are all over the LP. The latter should be of no surprise as Orgone’s Adryon De Leon and Sergio Rios each make cameos. Rios also mixed Movin’ The Needle, which was produced by The Monophonics’ Kelly Finnigan. While The Humidors have been around for over half a decade, the new LP is the band’s first to show off the massive talents of recent addition and lead vocalist Andre Cruz. The bottom end is held down by bassist and occasional JamBase contributor Eric Podolsky. Listen to the track “Walking Contradiction”:

Label: Self-Released

Producer: Kelly Finnigan

Number Of Tracks: 11

Guest Musicians: Adryon De Leon, Sergio Rios


  1. Afterglow
  2. Pain & Love
  3. The Great Highway
  4. Politician Man
  5. Walking Contradiction
  6. Mayaluc
  7. Fight Song
  8. Ceremony
  9. Zero
  10. You Don’t Know Me
  11. Desensitized

Download / CD/LP

Trevor Turville – Ace Slim

The Scoop: Multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Trevor Turville has issued an album he’s poured his heart and soul into for the past eight years, Ace Slim. The Atlanta native played all of the instruments himself and recorded and produced the entire 11-track effort with the exception his lead vocals for which he enlisted Jeff Lusby to record. After years of living in Atlanta, Trevor moved to Flagstaff, where he currently resides and where he finished the LP. Pinning down Turville’s sound is tough, as he’s a versatile player and songwriter whose music features hints of such disparate artists as Jason Isbell, Johnny Cash, Jerry Garcia, Jeff Tweedy and James Taylor. Listen to the LP’s lead track, “The Other Room”:

Label: Self-Released

Producer: Trevor Turville

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 78:00

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. The Other Room
  2. No Way Of Knowing
  3. Let Me Ease On Into Your Mind
  4. Song For Joanna
  5. Loud & Clear
  6. Loving Is Dreaming
  7. Stuck In Darkness
  8. Feels Like Rain
  9. Rock n’ Roll Baby
  10. One Eye Open
  11. Made To Wander

Stream / Download

Compiled by Jeffrey Greenblatt, Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.

JamBase Collections